HELLOWEEN Plays First Reunion Show With MICHAEL KISKE, KAI HANSEN (Video)

October 20, 2017

The reunited expanded classic lineup of German power metallers HELLOWEEN — featuring seven musicians, including former vocalist Michael Kiske and guitarist Kai Hansen alongside current singer Andi Deris and guitarist Sascha Gerstner — played the first show of its "Pumpkins United" world tour last night (Thursday, October 19) at Escena in Monterrey, Mexico.

The concert marked the first time Kiske has played live with HELLOWEEN since his 1993. Hansen, who also departed HELLOWEEN in 1988, has been joining the band onstage on various tours and festival appearances throughout the years. The set featured several duets with Kiske and his replacement, Deris, along with many rarely played songs, including "Kids Of The Century", "Rise And Fall" and "Livin' Ain't No Crime". Hansen — who fronted HELLOWEEN until late 1986 — sang a medley of several early HELLOWEEN classics, including "Ride The Sky", "Judas", "Starlight" and "Heavy Metal (Is The Law)". The show concluded with a video tribute to original drummer Ingo Schwichtenberg, who passed away in 1995.


01. Halloween (with Michael Kiske and Andi Deris)
02. Dr. Stein (Kiske and Deris)
03. I'm Alive / March Of Time (Kiske)
04. Kids Of The Century (Kiske)
05. If I Could Fly (Deris)
06. Are You Metal? (Deris)
07. Rise And Fall (Kiske)
08. Where The Sinners Go / Waiting For The Thunder (Deris)
09. Perfect Gentleman (Deris)
10. Kai Hansen Medley: Ride The Sky / Judas / Starlight / Heavy Metal (Is The Law)
11. Forever And One (Neverland) (Deris)
12. A Tale That Wasn't Right (Kiske)
13. I Can (Deris)
14. Dani Löble Drum Solo
15. Livin' Ain't No Crime / A Little Time (Kiske)
16. Why? (Deris)
17. Sole Survivor (Deris)
18. Power (Deris)
19. How Many Tears (Kiske and Deris)
20. Invitation/Eagle Fly Free (Kiske and Deris)
21. Keeper Of The Seven Keys (Kiske and Deris)
22. Future World (Kiske and Deris)
23. I Want Out (Kiske and Deris)

HELLOWEEN released its first reunion single, "Pumpkins United", last week.

Guitarist Michael Weikath told Spain's Metal Journal that Hansen was the first to suggest the idea of a tour like "Pumpkins United". But the reunion wasn't put into motion until Weikath had a conversation with Kiske at a metal festival in France. The guitarist recalled: "I said to [Kiske], basically, 'You shouldn't be too angry. You just must understand me. Back at that time, I saw myself as the one to put things into the right direction in HELLOWEEN, and the fact was nobody wanted to record another record with you, so I had to find a solution, or an opinion, and I had to state it to you, and this is how things came about back then. And I hope you can maybe forgive me about that, if I tell you this. Just try to understand me, what was going on back then.' And he said, 'Maybe I've already forgiven you. I don't know.'"

Regarding how long he went without talking to Michael Kiske before they reconnected at the aforementioned French festival, Weikath said: "Ever since [he left the band], after [1993's] 'Chameleon' [album]. 'Cause we didn't know how to touch that subject and whatever, and you could see from the press and his comments that there was understandable discrepancy in our relationship. It was always, like, 'Kai Hansen has said this about you, Weiki, and Michael Kiske has said this about you, Weiki. And what do you say?' And so I was always firing back. And that's not necessary anymore if we have these talks going and everything. And, basically, there's a time to be a little bit adult and grown up about things. Because so much time passed, there can't possibly be much more trouble, because everyone involved has more or less proven what he is capable of on his own and what he would be. Michael Kiske has been doing the solo records as they are, he's been involved in projects as they are and as they were, we've been doing the HELLOWEEN thing, and Kai Hansen has been doing his stuff. So everybody presented to the public what everyone was capable of. And so that's the history, that's all behind that whole thing. And what is there to quarrel or worry or fight about? There's nothing."

Find more on Helloween
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).