HELMET: New Album Details Revealed

May 26, 2006

Forefathers of the post-hardcore/punk genre, HELMET will return July 18 with "Monochrome", marking their first release on Warcon Records, one of the leading post-hardcore/punk labels in the industry today. This summer, the band — founding vocalist/guitarist Page Hamilton, guitarist Chris Traynor and new members, drummer Mike Jost and bassist Jeremy Chatelain — will play to thousands of music lovers across North America as a main stage-headlining act on the Vans Warped Tour from June 15 through August 13. The album's first single, "Gone", will arrive at radio in late June.

For "Monochrome", Page enlisted "Strap It On" and "Meantime" collaborator Wharton Tiers to co-produce and return to the organic sound the band is known for. Tiers recorded the band's first two releases, "Strap It On" and "Meantime", the latter of which sold over a million copies and defined the brusque element of America's underground rock scene. The HELMET sound sparked a new brand of metal, crossing all traditional music boundaries, paving the way for bands like CHEVELLE, DEFTONES, KILLSWITCH ENGAGE, NORMA JEAN and SILVERCHAIR, among many others.

"Wharton was my only choice to co-produce this project with me," notes Hamilton. "Apart from the sounds he can get in his studio, he was also a major influence in terms of helping me shape my guitar playing."

HELMET's catalog also includes "Betty" (1994) and "Aftertaste" (1996),after which they broke up in 1998. In 2004, Hamilton rejoined with Traynor and two other established players to release and tour in support of the critically acclaimed "Size Matters".

"Monochrome" track listing:

01. Swallowing Everything
02. Brand New
03. Bury Me
04. Monochrome
05. On Your Way Down
06. Money Shot
07. Gone
08. Almost Out Of Sight
09. Howl
10. 410
11. Goodbye

(Thanks: Defsteve)

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email