HUNTRESS: 'Sorrow' Video Released

September 25, 2015

"Sorrow", the new video from the Los Angeles-based, occult-themed traditional heavy metal band HUNTRESS, can be seen below. The clip was written and directed by Phil Mucci (DISTURBED, STONE SOUR, HIGH ON FIRE),and produced by Mucci and Ian Mackay of Diabolik.

"Sorrow" is taken from HUNTRESS's third studio album, titled "Static", which is being released today (Friday, September 25) via Napalm Records. The CD was produced by Paul Fig (Grammy-nominated engineer who has previously worked with ALICE IN CHAINS, DEFTONES, TRIVIUM, GHOST) and Jim Rota (FIREBALL MINISTRY, executive producer for "Sonic Highways" series and producer of "Sound City" movie),and was engineered and mixed by Fig.

Vance Kelly (SLAYER, ALICE IN CHAINS, EVANESCENCE, GHOST) has once again delivered stunning album artwork for HUNTRESS. The band's creative unity with Kelly remains strong, with Vance having also created album covers for HUNTRESS's previous CDs "Spell Eater" and "Starbound Beast".

HUNTRESS lead singer Jill Janus recently told Loudwire about the band's new CD: "The concept for 'Static' came to me on tour with HUNTRESS, in a truck stop restroom.

"'Static' is a monster that exists within all things electrical. She turns humans into 'zombies of the noise', braindead humanity. This is a reflection on how I feel about the current state of the world and the glorification of mediocrity."

Regarding the making of "Static", Jill said: "The writing and recording process was difficult at times, touring relentlessly. HUNTRESS kept getting amazing opportunities with LAMB OF GOD, ARCH ENEMY and AMON AMARTH. Our vision is strong, so the imagery and music always comes organically. We just let it evolve, yet kept up our pace. No rest for the wicked."

"Static" track listing:

01. Sorrow
02. Flesh
03. Brian
04. I Want To Wanna Wake Up
05. Mania
06. Four Blood Moons
07. Static
08. Harsh Times On Planet Stoked
09. Noble Savage
10. Fire In My Heart

Bonus tracks:

11. Black Tongue
12. Vultures Can Wait (7" vinyl exclusive)

Audio samples all the tracks that are set to appear on "Static" can be streamed in the YouTube clip below.

HUNTRESS was recently forced to cancel its previously announced participation in the U.S. tour featuring AVATAR, GEMINI SYNDROME and FIRST DECREE so that Janus could recover after undergoing "major surgery" for uterine cancer.


Jill Janus - Vocals
Blake Meahl - Guitars
Eli Santana - Guitars
Tyler Meahl - Drums



Find more on Huntress
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).