HURRICANE Returns With First New Album In Over 20 Years

July 21, 2023

HURRICANE was formed in 1983, originally featuring current FOREIGNER lead vocalist Kelly Hansen (vocals/rhythm guitar),Robert Sarzo (guitar),Tony Cavazo (bass) and Jay Schellen (drums),the latter of whom is currently with YES. Cavazo and Sarzo are the younger brothers of QUIET RIOT's Carlos Cavazo and Rudy Sarzo, respectively.

HURRICANE released four albums: "Take What You Want" (1985),"Over The Edge" (1988),"Slave To The Thrill" (1990) and "Liquifury" (2001). "Over The Edge" was their album featuring the charting song "I'm On To You", which peaked at No. 33 on the Billboard Mainstream Rock Tracks Chart in 1988.

In 2010 Sarzo and Cavazo, founding members, reunited and recruited drummer Mike Hansen. In 2021 Australian-born singer Dan Schumann, best known as a member of the Las Vegas headliner vocal group TENORS OF ROCK, joined. HURRICANE is now set to release its first new album in over 20 years, "Reconnected". The album has 11 tracks including a re-record of HURRICANE's Top 40 hit "I'm On To You", a blistering cover of the QUEEN/David Bowie track "Under Pressure" and the first single "Rock Star Cheater".

Sarzo states, "The 'Reconnected' album reconnects yesterday and today for tomorrow. This album is long overdue. With all the work and time composing and recording, it's finally here and it feels great!!! Now it's up to the music fans everywhere." Mike Hansen adds: "HURRICANE's 'Reconnected' is the test of time." Schumann states: "A lot of blood, sweat, and tears went into 'Reconnected'…but to me, it was worth every drop!"

"Reconnected" will be released on August 25 through Deko Entertainment, with limited edition (only 300 copies) silver vinyl dropping on September 29. Deko president Bruce Pucciarello says: "This is one kick-ass lineup and the power of the rock will knock you over like a Category 5."

"Reconnected" track listing:

01. Rock Star Cheater
02. You & I
03. Under Pressure
04. Behind Your Shadow
05. Innocent Girl
06. Don't Change Your Love
07. I'm On To You
08. Hand Of Souls
09. Disconnected
10. Blind Love
11. Wishing Well

Since Kelly Hansen's departure from HURRICANE in 2003 and the group reforming back in 2010, the lead vocals have been handled by different singers, including Andrew Freeman (2010-2012),Jason Ames (2014-2015),Michael O'Mara (2016-2018) and Chad Cancino (2019-2021).

Find more on Hurricane
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).