IHSAHN Hard At Work On 'After'; Video Footage From Studio Posted Online

September 10, 2009

Former EMPEROR vocalist/guitarist Ihsahn is hard at work on his third solo album, "After", for an early 2010 release via Mnemosyne Productions/Candlelight Records.

The first in a series of webisodes featuring footage from the recording studio can be viewed below. The initial clip features mainly the initial guitar recordings, and gives a hint or two of the musical direction of the album.

Ihsahn played his first-ever concert as a solo artist, supporting OPETH at Rockefeller in Oslo, Norway on March 10. He stated about the gig, "I felt well prepared for the show, and luckily all technical aspects worked out to our advantage, so that the overall experience for me and my band was extremely positive. The feedback from the audience was amazing, and many thought that the songs gained an extra dimension by being performed in a live setting."

Ihsahn's setlist was as follows:

01. Invocation
02. Called By The Fire
03. Scarab
04. Emancipation
05. Unhealer
06. Misanthrope
07. Thus Spake The Nightspirit

Ihsahn was supposed to support OPETH for the majority of shows on the Swedish band's Norwegian tour in March. However, more detailed production planning revealed technical and practical difficulties at many of the smaller venues, and it proved nearly impossible for Ihsahn to play any of the other dates on the trek.

Ihsahn's second solo album, "angL", was released in May 2008 via Mnemosyne Productions/Candlelight Records. The CD features a guest appearance by OPETH frontman Mikael Ã…kerfeldt on the track "Unhealer" while Asgeir Mickelson and Lars Norberg (both of SPIRAL ARCHITECT) were responsible for laying down the drum and bass tracks on the album, respectively.

Ihsahn previously described the musical direction of the CD as "a natural progression from 'The Adversary' [2006], but with a somewhat heavier touch."

"The Adversary" entered the Norwegian album chart at position No. 33 upon its release in 2006.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email