IHSAHN To Release 'Pharos' EP In September

July 17, 2020

EMPEROR frontman Ihsahn will release a new EP, "Pharos", on September 11 via Candlelight Records. The official music video for the disc's first single, "Spectre At The Feast", can be seen below. Also appearing on the effort are covers of PORTISHEAD's "Roads" and A-HA's "Manhattan Skyline" (featuring Einar Solberg of LEPROUS).

Ihsahn, whose real name is Vegard Sverre Tveitan, told Metal Hammer about "Spectre At The Feast": "It's probably the most straightforward song on the EP. It's got this almost pop-rock attitude. Lyrically, it's kind of a fly-on-the-wall perspective on society — all the superficial, stupid things people turn into something meaningful when they're not. It's musing on when the façade will break."

"Pharos" EP track listing:

01. Losing Altitude
02. Spectre At The Feast
03. Pharos
04. Roads (PORTISHEAD cover)
05. Manhattan Skyline (A-HA cover, featuring Einar Solberg of LEPROUS)

"Pharos" is the follow-up to "Telemark", which came out in February via Candlelight. That effort represented the heavier side of Ihsahn's music.

"'Telemark' was everything that was close to my heart: basic guitar riffing, screaming vocals," Ihsahn said. "I thought, 'I need to do a sequel where I do the exact opposite' — things that I don't know how to do, explore sonic territory that I haven't explored."

Last year, Ihsahn once again dismissed the idea of EMPEROR writing and recording a comeback album. The group's last studio LP, "Prometheus - The Discipline Of Fire & Demise", was released in 2001 and was written entirely by Ihsahn. EMPEROR broke up shortly thereafter, with Ihsahn going on to pursue a solo career, while guitarist Samoth (real name: Tomas Thormodsæter Haugen) partook in a variety of bands, including SCUM and ZYKLON. EMPEROR has reunited frequently in ensuing years to perform live, but has continually resisted calls to release new material.

Find more on Ihsahn
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).