IN FLAMES: 'Sounds Of A Playground Fading' Certified Gold In Sweden

November 22, 2011

"Sounds Of A Playground Fading", the tenth album from Swedish metallers IN FLAMES, has been certified gold in the group's home country for sales in excess of 20,000 copies.

Note: The International Federation of the Phonographic Industry (IFPI) in Sweden has revised the sales requirements for albums to reach gold status in the country twice in the last seven years from the pre-2002 level of 40,000 to the current 20,000.

The members of IN FLAMES were presented with "Playground" gold awards prior to their November 18, 2011 concert at Hovet in Stockholm. The awards were handed out by Razzia Records, which released the album in Sweden.

In other news, IN FLAMES has announced a very exclusive Scandinavian club tour for April/May 2012.

Commented the band: "It's not that often we play club shows in Scandinavia these days, but now it's time!!! You have no idea how much we look forward to play a small and sweaty stage near you! Come and have a party with us, 'cause we have NO idea when we'll come back again!"

The dates are as follows:

Apr. 10 - Huskvarna, Sweden - Folkets Park Teater Ladan
Apr. 11 - Trollhttan, Sweden - Folkets Hus
Apr. 12 - Copenhagen, Denmark - Vega
Apr. 13 - rebro, Sweden - Klubb 700
Apr. 14 - Linkping, Sweden - Garden
Apr. 15 - Karlstad, Sweden - Njesfabriken
Apr. 17 - Bergen, Norway - Peer Gynt Hallen
Apr. 18 - Stavanger, Norway - Folken
Apr. 19 - Trondheim, Norway - Stundenter Samfundet
Apr. 21 - re, Sweden - TV4 - Sport Arena
Apr. 22 - Pite, Sweden - Norrmalmia
Apr. 24 - Ume, Sweden - Idun
Apr. 25 - Gvle, Sweden - Maxim
Apr. 27 - Seinjoki, Finland - Rytmikorjaamo
Apr. 28 - Tampere - Pakkahuone
Apr. 29 - Oulu, Finland - Teatria
Apr. 30 - Jyvskyl, Finland - Lutakko
May 02 - Stockholm, Sweden - Debaser Slussen

Tickets will go on sale on November 25.

"Sounds Of A Playground Fading" sold around 14,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release.

IN FLAMES' previous CD, "A Sense of Purpose" (Koch) opened with 20,000 units to land at No. 28. This was slightly less than the opening tally of "Come Clarity" (Ferret),which shifted just under 24,000 copies in February 2006 to enter the chart at position No. 58.

"Sounds Of A Playground Fading" was made available in the following formats in Europe:

* CD Jewelcase
* Special-edition CD+DVD (eight-panel digipak with pop-up feature + recording "Sounds Of A Playground Fading" DVD)
* Limited deluxe box set CD+DVD (eight-panel pop-up digipak and 32-page deluxe booklet + recording "Sounds Of A Playground Fading" DVD, black textile belt with white print and silver buckle with black IN FLAMES logo, set of 3 buttons, 1 jigsaw puzzle, 6 postcards) * 2-LP gatefold, 180gr vinyl
* Digital download

13 songs were laid down for the CD, which was recorded at the band's IF Studios in Gothenburg with engineer Roberto Laghi (HARDCORE SUPERSTAR, LOK, SONIC SYNDICATE).

"Sounds Of A Playground Fading" track listing:

01. Sounds Of A Playground Fading
02. Deliver Us
03. All For Me
04. The Puzzle
05. Fear Is The Weakness
06. Where The Dead Ships Dwell
07. The Attic
08. Darker Times
09. Ropes
10. Enter Tragedy
11. Jester's Door
12. A New Dawn
13. Liberation

The cover artwork was created by Dave Correia and can be viewed below.

IN FLAMES recruited Niclas Engelin from fellow Swedes ENGEL as the band's new second guitarist.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).