IRON MAIDEN Guitarist Featured On 'The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Plays The Music Of Rush'

October 23, 2012

Purple Pyramid Records, a division of Cleopatra Records, will release "The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Plays The Music Of Rush" on November 13. Nearly sixty musicians and thirty vocalists transform nine of RUSH's greatest hits into even more intricate, soaring orchestral works.

The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra covers the best-known classics, from "Working Man", the self-titled debut album track that launched RUSH's career in the U.S. to "Subdivisions" from "Signals", the album that proved electronic rock could reside in the top ten. The band's most successful record, "Moving Pictures", is represented by rousing versions of "Tom Sawyer" and "Red Barchetta". Special guest guitarists include Steve Rothery of MARILLION on "Working Man" and Adrian Smith of IRON MAIDEN on "Red Barchetta". The Windrush Choir provides backing vocals and solos.

The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, formed in 1946 and based in London, has been called the nation's favorite orchestra. It has had internationally known maestros like Andre Previn and Louis Clark, and has toured the world. The RPO is a best-selling and adventurous recording entity as well. In 1969, it recorded a concerto for DEEP PURPLE, composed by the band's organist Jon Lord. It earned a top ten U.S. single in 1982 with "Hooked On Classics". Over the years, RPO has orchestrally arranged PINK FLOYD, OASIS, QUEEN, R.E.M., MADONNA and ABBA.

The orchestra was recorded at the legendary Abbey Road Studios in London, conducted by BAFTA Award-winning musician and composer Richard Harvey. Harvey performed with the prog rock group GRYPHON and as an accomplished multi-instrumentalist (specializing in mediaeval and Renaissance periods),worked with many folk and rock musicians such as Richard and Linda Thompson, Kate Bush and SWEET. He has toured and recorded with John Williams, and has performed and composed film/TV soundtracks for more than thirty years. The album was produced by James Graydon and Richard Cottle, who also arranged all the music.

"The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Plays The Music Of Rush" track listing:

01. 2112 Overture
02. The Spirit Of Radio
03. Tom Sawyer
04. Red Barchetta (feat. Adrian Smith)
05. Subdivisions
06. Fly By Night
07. Closer To The Heart
08. Limelight
09. Working Man (feat. Steve Rothery)

"2112 Overture" can be streamed at this location.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email