IRON MAIDEN Kicks Off European Tour; Setlist Revealed

June 27, 2008

British heavy metal legends IRON MAIDEN kicked off the European leg of their 2008 "Somewhere Back In Time" world tour with a headlining appearance earlier tonight (Friday, June 27) at the Gods of Metal festival in Bologna, Italy.

The group's setlist was as follows:

01. Aces High
02. 2 Minutes To Midnight
03. Revelations
04. The Trooper
05. Wasted Years
06. The Number Of The Beast
07. Can I Play With Madness?
08. Rime Of The Ancient Mariner
09. Powerslave
10. Heaven Can Wait
11. Run To The Hills
12. Fear Of The Dark
13. Iron Maiden
14. Moonchild
15. The Clairvoyant
16. Hallowed Be Thy Name

According to Martin Carlsson of the Swedish newspaper Expressen who attended the concert, "because of the Italian authorities, MAIDEN weren't allowed to shoot off fireworks during 'The Number Of The Beast'."

IRON MAIDEN vocalist Bruce Dickinson was featured in a one-hour special episode of "The Metal File" podcast from Montreal's CHOM-FM. Listen to the program at this location.

For more information, visit

IRON MAIDEN's new collection, "Somewhere Back In Time The Best Of: 1980-1989", which came out last month, registered the following first-week chart positions around the world:

Sweden: #2
Canada: #7
Norway: #7
UK: #14
Finland: #34
USA: #59
Germany: #85

"Somewhere Back In Time The Best Of: 1980-1989" sold 11,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release, according to Nielsen SoundScan. This very special album charts the first decade of the band's extraordinary career. The CD celebrates the essence of the current tour by featuring most of the essential tracks from the band's first seven studio albums and one live album, recorded between 1980 and 1989.

IRON MAIDEN performing live in Porto Alegre, Brazil on March 5, 2008:

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).