IRON MAIDEN: 'Numbers From The Beast' Tribute Album Samples Available For Download

October 8, 2005

Several tracks from the upcoming IRON MAIDEN tribute album, "Numbers from the Beast: An All Star Salute to Iron Maiden", have been made available for streaming and download via

On October 11, IRON MAIDEN fans the world over will have something new to get excited about as the newly re-launched Restless Records releases "Numbers from the Beast: An All Star Salute to Iron Maiden", a tribute to the legendary band. The album, which features MAIDEN's own Paul Di'Anno and marks Restless' return to its metal and punk roots, is produced by Grammy award winner and tribute album pioneer Bob Kulick (KISS, METALLICA, AEROSMITH),along with Brett Chassen, and features appearances from current or former members of IRON MAIDEN, KISS, AC/DC, MOTÖRHEAD, ANTHRAX, DIO, JUDAS PRIEST, TESTAMENT, TWISTED SISTER, EXTREME, WHITESNAKE, SLAUGHTER, HELMET, DOKKEN and many others.

"It's a fitting salute to an awesome band and may be the best tribute I've ever produced. I really like what we've done to these amazing songs, and more importantly, the band approves," says Kulick of the album.

"Numbers from the Beast" features 11 classic IRON MAIDEN tunes revamped in honor of the band's 25th anniversary. The final track listing, complete with stellar rock personnel is as follows:

01. Run to the Hills

Vocals: Robin McAuley (MSG)
Lead Guitar: Michael Schenker (MSG)
Rhythm Guitar: Pete Fletcher (PYGMY LOVE CIRCUS)
Bass: Tony Franklin (THE FIRM)
Drums: Brian Tichy (BILLY IDOL)

02. Wasted Years (mp3, streaming)

Vocals: Dee Snider (TWISTED SISTER)
Lead Guitar: George Lynch (DOKKEN, LYNCH MOB)
Rhythm Guitar: Bob Kulick (PAUL STANLEY BAND, MEATLOAF)
Bass: Jeff Pilson (DOKKEN, FOREIGNER)
Drums: Jason Bonham (BONHAM, FOREIGNER)

03. Wrathchild

Vocals: Paul Di'Anno (IRON MAIDEN)
Lead Guitar: Alex Skolnick (TESTAMENT)
Rhythm Guitar: Chris Traynor (HELMET, BUSH)
Bass: Frank Bello (HELMET, ANTHRAX)
Drums: John Tempesta (HELMET, TESTAMENT)

04. Flight of Icarus

Vocals: Tim "Ripper" Owens (JUDAS PRIEST, ICED EARTH)
Guitar: Doug Aldrich (WHITESNAKE, DIO)
Bass: Jimmy Bain (DIO, RAINBOW)
Drums: Simon Wright (DIO, AC/DC)

05. Fear of the Dark

Vocals: Chuck Billy (TESTAMENT)
Guitar: Craig Goldy (DIO)
Bass: Rickie Phillips (STYX)
Drums: Mikkey Dee (MOTÖRHEAD)

06. The Trooper (mp3, streaming)

Vocals: Lemmy Kilmister (MOTÖRHEAD)
Guitar: Phil Campbell (MOTÖRHEAD)
Drums: Chris Slade (AC/DC)

07. Aces High

Guitar: Nuno Bettencourt (EXTREME, DRAMAGODS)
Bass: Billy Sheehan (Mr. BIG, NIACIN)
Drums: Vinny Appice (BLACK SABBATH, DIO)

08. 2 Minutes to Midnight

Vocals: Joe Lynn Turner (DEEP PURPLE, RAINBOW)
Guitar: Richie Kotzen (MR. BIG, POISON)
Bass: Tony Franklin (THE FIRM)
Drums: Chris Slade (AC/DC, THE FIRM)

09. Can I Play With Madness? (mp3, streaming)

Vocals: Mark Slaughter (SLAUGHTER)
Guitar: Bruce Kulick (KISS, GRAND FUNK RAILROAD)
Bass: Marco Mendoza (THIN LIZZY, TED NUGENT)
Drums: Aynsley Dunbar (DAVID BOWIE, WHITESNAKE)

10. The Evil That Men Do

Vocals: Chris Jericho (WWE wrestler, FOZZY)
Guitar: Paul Gilbert (MR. BIG, RACER X)
Rhythm Guitar: Bob Kulick (PAUL STANLEY BAND, MEATLOAF)
Drums: Brent Fitz (VINCE NEIL, UNION)

11. The Wickerman

Lead Guitar: Jeff Duncan (ARMORED SAINT)
Guitar: Scott Ian (ANTHRAX)
Bass: Blasko (ROB ZOMBIE)
Drums: Ben Graves (MURDERDOLLS)
Backing Vocals: Jason Miller (GODHEAD)

The cover of every official IRON MAIDEN album has featured a zombie called "Eddie." Eddie has been painted by artist Derek Riggs for 20 years. "Numbers from the Beast" cover art was naturally painted by Riggs and is a must-have for any MAIDEN fan.

"Numbers from the Beast" marks the first release on the newly revamped Restless Records. William Hein, current president of Rykodisc and former head of Enigma Records, co-founded Restless in 1985 as a punk and metal sub-label of Enigma. Restless became a stand-alone label after Capitol-EMI acquired Enigma, and was subsequently acquired by Rykodisc in 2003. Now, back with a new sound and logo, Restless returns to its roots with the MAIDEN salute, as well as an upcoming reissue from California punk outfit 45 GRAVE.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).