IRON MAIDEN To Issue Special Edition Of "Run To The Hills" Single

January 24, 2002

Following the recent announcement of two special benefit gigs for former drummer, Clive Burr, IRON MAIDEN are also to release a special edition of “Run To The Hills”, probably their most famous single featuring Clive. The band will donate all their income from the forthcoming single and the benefit shows to the Clive Burr Multiple Sclerosis Trust Fund. EMI Records will release the single on Monday 11th March. All formats will be strictly limited edition.

The “Run To The Hills” single will be available in two CD's which will feature the original version of the song as well as a new live version recorded last January at the Rock in Rio III festival. Both CD singles will also have exclusive material, which has never been available before from Clive's era with the band. There will also be a special vinyl version available.

The live version of “Run To The Hills” is taken from their forthcoming live album, Rock In Rio, which will be released by EMI Records on Monday 25th March. This double album was recorded at Rio's mammoth festival, January 2001, where the band headlined to 250,000 frenzied fans and a global TV and Web audience of millions.

The Rock In Rio album has been produced by Kevin Shirley and co-produced by Steve Harris which was the same partnership as the band's last studio album Brave New World.

Says Harris, "The Rock in Rio festival was a huge production and as the recording facilities were already there we had the opportunity to record the event which was MAIDEN's biggest headlining show ever. Kevin Shirley came down to the show to oversee the recording and we then returned to New York to pull together all the parts. The crowd were absolutely amazing and at times nearly drowned out the band with their singing. The whole show was an unforgettable experience and I want to thank all the fans who were at the show. It was a fantastic way to finish out the tour and I'm really pleased with final result as it really captures the atmosphere of the night."

Rock In Rio will be released as a double CD as it features over 120 minutes of music. There will be a collectors' item triple picture disc vinyl.

The track list:

01. The Wicker Man
02. Ghost Of The Navigator
03. Brave New World
04. Wrathchild
05. Two Minutes to Midnight
06. Blood Brothers
07. Sign Of The Cross
08. The Mercenary
09. The Trooper
10. Dream Of Mirrors
11. The Clansman
12. The Evil That Men Do
13. Fear Of The Dark
14. Iron Maiden
15. Number Of The Beast
16. Hallowed Be Thy Name
17. Sanctuary
18. Run To The Hills

For the latest information about the Clive Burr benefit shows and the Rock In Rio release, keep watching! Online donations to the Clive Burr MS Trust will be available next week.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email