January 25, 2017

Relapse Records has announced the signing of cult U.K. doom/sludge outfit IRON MONKEY. The band has entered Moot Group studios in Nottingham to record a new album with Johnny A. Carter (ex-PITCHSHIFTER). The effort will consist of eight tracks plus a cover song and is tentatively due late summer/early fall.

Heavily influenced by the nihilistic sound of groups like EYEHATEGOD, BUZZOV*EN, FLOOR and GRIEF, IRON MONKEY originally formed in Nottingham, England in 1994 and released two full-lengths (1997's self-titled debut and 1998's "Our Problem"),a live album and a split with CHURCH OF MISERY before splitting in 1999.

Now, almost two decades later, the band has decided to reform as a trio with co-founding members S. Watson on bass and J. Rushby on guitar/vocals. They're rounded out by new member S. Briggs (CHAOS U.K.,) who also played with original IRON MONKEY vocalist J.P. Morrow in the short-lived sludge supergroup MY WAR.

The band commented on the reformation and new material: "We're older, more cynical, more isolationist. Musically, we're more aggressive, more focused — a direct assault. We intend to take what is rightfully ours, usurp the scene, then crush its skull."

Morrow died of a heart attack in June 2002.

Find more on Iron monkey
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email