IRON STEEL Frontman Reports From NAMM Show In Anaheim

January 18, 2008

Fran Strine of the new thrash supergroup IRON STEEL has taken time out of his schedule at NAMM (National Association of Music Merchants) to write an exclusive blog entry for MetalSucks.

Over the next several weeks, MetalSucks will be featuring exclusive blog entries from all of the members of IRON STEEL, featuring Morgan Rose (SEVENDUST) on drums; Jim LaMarca (CHIMAIRA),Dave Ellefson (ex-MEGADETH) and Rachel Bolan (SKID ROW) all on bass; as well as Fran Strine on vocals and guitar and Tommy Redd on guitar. Each week a different member post an entry at MetalSucks; this week vocalist and guitarist Fran Strine reports from the trenches of the NAMM show in Anaheim. An excerpt from the entry follows:

"So, today I was walking around the 2008 NAMM show checking out all the new gear that everyone is going to give me because I'm so fucking rad, when I heard a loud 'bang.' I hit the floor as soon as I heard it — taking one of our many bassists, Dave Ellefson, along with me. 'They're coming,' I screamed. Dave was looking left to right and doing a military crawl, dragging me along until we got under the table at the Peavey booth. As people walked by, we saw our drummer, Morgan Rose, we called out to him 'save yourself, Morgan!' He came over, yanked Ellefson out from under the table and shook him by the shoulders, screaming, 'Dave — we are in Anaheim!' Next he did it to me, and once we were both shaken and sat down at the booth, we calmed down a bit. Morgan went and got LaMarca and Tommy and told them what happened. I could see them shaking their heads and when I read their lips, they were saying, 'Not again!' I finally figured out that the sound sent me right into a flashback from IRON STEEL's last tour in North Korea. They told me that if I told anyone anything about what went on there that I would have to kill them but I figure that once you listen to 'Attack' you will be slayed anyway, so here it goes…"

Read the rest of this entry at

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).