JAMES MURPHY Completes Guitar Solo For OBLITERHATE Debut

June 6, 2008

Guitarist-extraordinaire-turned-producer James Murphy (TESTAMENT, DEATH, OBITUARY) has completed a guest guitar solo on the song "Dawn Of Extermination", which will open the forthcoming debut album from OBLITERHATE.

OBLITERHATE is the brainchild of guitarist Calvin Chiang of the Singaporean death thrash metal band RASPATUL. The project, which is said to follow a "more brutal and intricate direction" than RASPATUL, features contributions from some of metal's legendary and highly renowned musicians.

Commented Calvin: "I just got the guitar solos from James this week and this man delivers exactly what I need for this song. It was flawless and the solos just scream of James Murphy all over the place! It's got all the trademarks typical of James and I am extremely pleased with the outcome of the guitar solo. With James being one of my main influences, it was certainly a big dream come true! Need I even say more about James Murphy?

He added, "Mirai Kawashima (SIGH, NECROPHAGIA) executed three keyboard tracks for the album some months ago, namely 'The March Of Denouncement', 'Decimation Symphony' and 'Ensemble Of The Accursed'. Mirai is another mad genius whom I had the utmost pleasure of working with. Dan Swan (EDGE OF SANITY, NIGHTINGALE, ex-BLOODBATH) did some sick talking verses on two of the keyboard tracks and it's just amazing yet creepy as fuck!

"Besides doing vocals on all the songs, Dan Swan also contributed a spectacular guitar solo for 'Hell Crusade' and there is absolutely nothing this guy cannot do. I always have nothing but praises for Dan, and he truly deserves to be the legend that he is!"

OBLITERHATE's debut album, titled "Blessing In Disgust", will contain nine songs and will be released sometime in 2008 via Pulverised Records. Other musicians that are expected to appear on the CD include Erik Sayenga (WARTHRONE, ex-DYING FETUS) on drums and Derrick Ramirez (DRAGONLORD, ex-TESTAMENT) on bass. The legendary Jeff Becerra from the mighty POSSESSED has penned some lyrics for OBLITERHATE and will also appear on the album. The other part of the lyrical songwriting and vocal arrangements will be handled by Rogga Johansson, who is the mastermind behind PAGANIZER, THOSE WHO BRING THE TORTURE, RIBSPREADER and DEMIURG.

"Blessing In Disgust" track listing:

01. The March Of Denouncement
02. Dawn Of Extermination
03. Monotheislaughter (Enthrone The Apocalypse)
04. Hell Crusade
05. Decimation Symphony
06. Impale Thy Divine
07. Swine Are Your Gods
08. Ensemble Of The Accursed
09. Rejoice In Bloodshed

For more information, visit www.myspace.com/obliterhate.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).