April 10, 2008

Legendary Los Angeles band JANE'S ADDICTION has been voted Godlike Genius at the inaugural American installment of the NME Awards, to be held at the El Rey Theatre in Los Angeles on April 23 .

Formed in 1985 by singer Perry Farrell, guitarist Dave Navarro, drummer Stephen Perkins and bassist Eric Avery, JANE'S ADDICTION has been chosen to receive the Godlike Genius Award in recognition of the fact that the band has done more than any other to introduce American alternative music to the mainstream, founding the touring Lollapalooza festival and giving what Perry Farrell refers to as the "alternative nation" a real cultural focus and voice. Their four albums "Jane's Addiction", "Nothing's Shocking", "Ritual De Lo Habitual" and "Strays" set the marker for expansive, explosive and intellectually restless rock while their legendarily incendiary live performances have seldom been matched in the intervening years. They are, according to NME, truly Godlike.

NME Editor Conor McNicholas said: "When we were in the planning stages of bringing the NME Awards to America, JANE'S ADDICTION were always in our thoughts. They are exactly the sort of once-in-a-lifetime inspirational, aspirational, no-holds-barred, genre-busting, risk-taking, pioneering group which sums up what the NME Awards is all about. Breath-taking live, phenomenal on record, they blazed a trail for alternative music from which others have truly benefited over the past 20 years and it is with the very greatest pleasure that we acknowledge and honour their contribution to making music which makes the world a better, more exciting place to live in."

The Godlike Genius Award presented to those who have made an extraordinary contribution to the musical landscape is traditionally the centrepiece of the UK NME Awards with past recipients including U2, Paul McCartney, THE CLASH, NEW ORDER, PRIMAL SCREAM, Ian Brown, Michael Eavis (owner of the Glastonbury Festival) and legendary deejay John Peel.

JANE'S ADDICTION are the first American beneficiaries of this prestigious award.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email