JEFF SCOTT SOTO: 'Beautiful Mess' CD/DVD Package Due In January

September 17, 2008

Legendary vocalist Jeff Scott Soto's (TALISMAN, JOURNEY, YNGWIE MALMSTEEN) new solo album, "Beautiful Mess", which was released this week digitally via Sewtoe Music through iTunes and CD Baby, will be made available as a separate CD/DVD package in January 2009. The new set will include unreleased songs, select live cuts from the Firefest 5 (which is scheduled to take place October 25, 2008 in Nottingham, UK) and at least four videos — "21st Century", "Gin And Tonic Sky" (studio and acoustic versions) and "Hey". The release will coincide with an extensive Jeff Scott Soto tour in early 2009 which will cover Europe, the Americas and much more.

Jeff Scott Soto's video for the song "21st Century", which was produced and directed by longtime Jeff Scott Soto associate and fellow musician Gary Schutt, can be viewed below.

"Beautiful Mess" track listing:

01. 21st Century
02. Cry Me A River
03. Gin And Tonic Sky
04. Hey
05. Broken Man
06. Mountain
07. Our Song
08. Eye
09. Bring It Home
10. Testify
11. Wherever U Wanna Go
12. Kick It

Check out the cover artwork below (by Richard Mace).

Audio samples are available on Jeff Scott Soto's MySpace page.

In a recent interview with, Jeff stated about the album, "I have no fear of entering the world of contemporary music as I don't think it will alienate most of my fans. I think that because I know a lot of my fans, not only my own personal fans come into my music with an open mind, but I know a lot of them openly enjoy more than just the genre of hard rock music. So, therefore, I can go into something a little more contemporary. I can go into something I've been dreaming of doing for a long time I just didn't have the tools and the team to do it, so to speak. But more importantly, it's the idea of finding a new and different audience who don't know who I am."

He added, "This is an album for people who never heard of Jeff Scott Soto and for the most part, I think I've said it in a few blogs and interviews before, most of my fans will follow me in what I do. They've been pretty open to what I've done from 'Love Parade' onward, but this is a whole other chapter of what I'm about. And instead of taking just one genre of what they know me as, and another genre of what they know me as, I'm kinda putting it all into just one big stew and mixing it up this time. It's hard to really talk about a new album and categorize it or separate it from your entire career, but this really does sound and feel like a separation from everything I've already done."

Japan's Metal Moment podcast has uploaded a recent audio interview with Jeff Scott Soto. Listen to the chat at this location.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).