JETBOY Releases Video For 'Beating The Odds' Featuring Spoken-Word Piece By LEMMY

October 25, 2018

"Beating The Odds", the new video from JETBOY, can be seen below. The song is taken from the band's new album, "Born To Fly", which will be released on January 25, 2019 via Frontiers Music Srl.

Of the new single, guitarist Billy Rowe says: "'Beating The Odds' features a spoken-word piece by the late, great Lemmy Kilmister. In 1990, Lemmy became friendly with us and jumped on stage at the Cathouse for our second album-release party to cover a rocked up version of Jerry Lee Lewis's 'Great Balls Of Fire'. A year or so later, Lemmy ended up helping out with some backing vocals on a demo, along with a spoken-word piece titled 'The Reading', which was written by Lemmy and Mickey [Finn, vocals]. In the breakdown of this new single, we edited a portion of the reading as we felt it was such a perfect fit for the track. The video was also inspired by Lemmy, with an animated story of a war pilot in a dog fight and beating the odds to survive."

Founded in 1983 by guitarists Billy Rowe and Fernie Rod, JETBOY continues to crank out its brand of rock 'n' roll in the 21st century with the same passion that has existed from the beginning.

"Born To Fly" — put together by the band's core of guitarists Billy Rowe, Fernie Rod and vocalist Mickey Finn, alongside former FASTER PUSSYCAT bassist Eric Stacy and drummer Al Serrato — is the first full-fledged set of new material from JETBOY since 1990.

"The band wasn't working on any new material when Frontiers approached us," says Rowe. "Mickey and I had written one or two songs a few years back, but that's about it. For myself, I've been very into writing music and got very into recording, so I had a good amount of complete musical songs that I always felt could end up as new JETBOY material, and some of it did. But the majority of the songs on this album were written within a couple of months after we got the offer from Frontiers."

Rowe continues: "Writing and recording this album came so naturally, there was no struggle at all. We feel it happened at the right time and was meant to be.

"The spirit of the band has been at an all-time high ever since we started this new album. We shared ideas via e-mail and then demoed every song before enteringthe studio. Once we started tracking this album, we all felt something special was going on."

Best described as a blend of edgy rock and roll with a traditional blues-based influence, "Born To Fly" is the perfect vehicle to exploit the commanding style of JETBOY's classic rock 'n' roll sound.

"The musical inspiration for the "Born To Fly" album came from a lifelong list of influences from bands we all grew up on from the 1970s," states Rowe.

"JETBOY has always approached its writing with a simple, stripped-down, no-nonsense rock 'n' roll structure, starting with a great riff and a catchy hook.

"This album flowed so organically, everything felt like it was meant to be. We've also all really grown as musicians, which really helped capture what we feel is some of our best work to date."

Vocalist Mickey Finn says the "lyrics flowed amazingly fast, with most songs being written in one sitting. My feelings were to stay true to JETBOY's roots and style, but to also incorporate where we are at today, pleasing old and new fans alike.

"My wife was the inspiration for 'Every Time I Go' and my firstborn son inspired 'The Way You Move Me'. Our life struggles as a band and lifelong friends inspired tracks like 'Beating The Odds' and 'Born To Fly'. 'Inspiration From Desperation' covers our political climate in America these days, 'Brokenhearted Daydream' reminds us that love is sometimes fickle and hearts get broken, but don't let it destroy your heart — we have to learn to move on and allow love to come into our lives again.

"So, all in all, lots of inspiring messages on the record, as well as some good old rock 'n' roll fun and 'Party Time!' lyrics make it a well-rounded listen!

"Born To Fly" track listing:

01. Beating The Odds
02. Born To Fly
03. Old Dog, New Tricks
04. The Way That You Move Me
05. Brokenhearted Daydream
06. Inspiration From Desperation
07. All Over Again
08. She
09. A Little Bit Easy
10. Every Time I Go
11. Smoky Ebony
12. Party Time!


Mickey Finn - Lead Vocals, Harmonica
Fernie Rod - Rhythm, Lead Guitar, Vocals
Billy Rowe - Rhythm, Slide Guitar, Vocals
Eric Stacy - Bass
Al Serrato - Drums

Find more on Lemmy
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email