JETBOY To Release 'Born To Fly' Album In January; Watch Video For Title Track

August 21, 2018

JETBOY's new album, "Born To Fly", will be released on January 25, 2019 via Frontiers Music Srl.

You can watch the video for the disc's title track below.

Founded in 1983 by guitarists Billy Rowe and Fernie Rod, JETBOY continues to crank out its brand of rock 'n' roll in the 21st century with the same passion that has existed from the beginning.

Of the song and video for the title track, Mickey Finn says: "'Born To Fly' is just about the feeling of being meant to do something great and fighting and working to make it happen, never giving up or giving in and sticking to your guns to do it on your own terms.

"Remember — sometimes greatness comes in small accomplishments. If it feels great to you, then it is great!!

"We shot the video on two rooftop locations in the southside of downtown Los Angeles on one long day and night in July 2018."

"Born To Fly" — put together by the band's core of guitarists Billy Rowe, Fernie Rod and vocalist Mickey Finn, alongside former FASTER PUSSYCAT bassist Eric Stacy and drummer Al Serrato — is the first full-fledged set of new material from JETBOY since 1990.

"The band wasn't working on any new material when Frontiers approached us," says Rowe. "Mickey and I had written one or two songs a few years back, but that's about it. For myself, I've been very into writing music and got very into recording, so I had a good amount of complete musical songs that I always felt could end up as new JETBOY material, and some of it did. But the majority of the songs on this album were written within a couple of months after we got the offer from Frontiers."

Rowe continues: "Writing and recording this album came so naturally, there was no struggle at all. We feel it happened at the right time and was meant to be.

"The spirit of the band has been at an all-time high ever since we started this new album. We shared ideas via e-mail and then demoed every song before enteringthe studio. Once we started tracking this album, we all felt something special was going on."

Best described as a blend of edgy rock and roll with a traditional blues-based influence, "Born To Fly" is the perfect vehicle to exploit the commanding style of JETBOY's classic rock 'n' roll sound.

"The musical inspiration for the "Born To Fly" album came from a lifelong list of influences from bands we all grew up on from the 1970s," states Rowe.

"JETBOY has always approached its writing with a simple, stripped-down, no-nonsense rock 'n' roll structure, starting with a great riff and a catchy hook.

"This album flowed so organically, everything felt like it was meant to be. We've also all really grown as musicians, which really helped capture what we feel is some of our best work to date."

Vocalist Mickey Finn says the "lyrics flowed amazingly fast, with most songs being written in one sitting. My feelings were to stay true to JETBOY's roots and style, but to also incorporate where we are at today, pleasing old and new fans alike.

"My wife was the inspiration for 'Every Time I Go' and my firstborn son inspired 'The Way You Move Me'. Our life struggles as a band and lifelong friends inspired tracks like 'Beating The Odds' and 'Born To Fly'. 'Inspiration From Desperation' covers our political climate in America these days, 'Brokenhearted Daydream' reminds us that love is sometimes fickle and hearts get broken, but don't let it destroy your heart — we have to learn to move on and allow love to come into our lives again.

"So, all in all, lots of inspiring messages on the record, as well as some good old rock 'n' roll fun and 'Party Time!' lyrics make it a well-rounded listen!

"Born To Fly" track listing:

01. Beating The Odds
02. Born To Fly
03. Old Dog, New Tricks
04. The Way That You Move Me
05. Brokenhearted Daydream
06. Inspiration From Desperation
07. All Over Again
08. She
09. A Little Bit Easy
10. Every Time I Go
11. Smoky Ebony
12. Party Time!


Mickey Finn - Lead Vocals, Harmonica
Fernie Rod - Rhythm, Lead Guitar, Vocals
Billy Rowe - Rhythm, Slide Guitar, Vocals
Eric Stacy - Bass
Al Serrato - Drums

Find more on Jetboy
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).