JUDAS PRIEST: Complete 'Rising In The East' DVD Details Revealed

October 28, 2005

Heavy metal icons JUDAS PRIEST will release the new live DVD, "Rising in the East" (view cover here),on November 15, 2005, via Rhino Home Video.

Vocalist Rob Halford, lead guitarists Glenn Tipton and K.K. Downing, bass guitarist Ian Hill and drummer Scott Travis filmed "Rising in the East" in May 2005 at the legendary Budokan in Tokyo, Japan. The definitive JUDAS PRIEST lineup played two sold-out nights at the venue to promote the early-2005 release of the critically acclaimed studio album "Angel of Retribution", their first new material in 15 years. "Rising in the East" is JUDAS PRIEST's first straight-to-DVD release.

"We talked about doing a DVD on this tour and we decided to do it at the Budokan because it's a special venue. It's world-renowned. We thought it was an ideal choice," says Tipton. "We filmed both nights but we ended up using the second night only for this DVD. We wanted it to be as live and as real as possible, and when you start taking from different shows there isn't continuity. We wanted it to be one show and that's exactly what it is."

"I think what 'Rising in the East' displays to PRIEST fans is the first time seeing us reunited for a full-length show in the DVD format," Halford says. "I think the DVD compounds all the great things that PRIEST fans and metal fans all around the world love about the band. PRIEST is still a powerful, physical, full-on experience in the live domain. What this DVD is intended to do is give longtime PRIEST fans another great memory to add to their collection, and it's also an opportunity for new PRIEST fans to explore all the great things we're achieving three decades later."

"Rising in the East" is bursting with JUDAS PRIEST classics from albums such as "Sad Wings of Destiny", "Sin After Sin", "Stained Class", "Hell Bent for Leather", "British Steel", "Point of Entry", "Screaming for Vengeance", "Turbo", "Ram It Down" and "Painkiller" as well as "Angel of Retribution" standouts.

The track listing includes:

01. The Hellion/Electric Eye
02. Metal Gods
03. Riding on the Wind
04. The Ripper
05. A Touch of Evil
06. Judas Rising
07. Revolution
08. Hot Rockin'
09. Breaking the Law
10. I'm A Rocker
11. Diamonds and Rust
12. Worth Fighting For
13. Deal with the Devil
14. Beyond the Realms of Death
15. Turbo Lover
16. Hellrider
17. Victim of Changes
18. Exciter
19. Painkiller
20. Hell Bent For Leather
21. Living after Midnight
22. You've Got another Thing Comin'

"This set list is a great cross-section of the PRIEST catalog. It runs the full spectrum of musical content," Tipton says. "We used to only play two or three songs from a new album on tour, but for 'Angel of Retribution' we've played five or six songs from it during the time we've been out, which is a lot. That shows how good the album is and how well-received it has been. It's been very rewarding to see the positive reaction to the new material."

"The DVD is a full two-hour display of highlights from PRIEST's career over the last three decades," Halford says. "We take you on a metal journey from 'Sad Wings of Destiny' right up to 'Angel of Retribution'. Between those two points in time, 'Rising in the East' includes music that is significant to us and to our fans. In that respect, this DVD is quite unique."

The audio, which was mixed by longtime JUDAS PRIEST producer Tom Allom, is presented in 5.1 Surround Sound.

"Tom's never totally been away. We've always kept in touch with him. He's a good friend and we worked with him for many, many years," Tipton says. "On the live aspect, Tom is the ideal man. He knows the band inside out. He knows what we like, and he's got a great set of ears."

"He is a significant figure in the history of JUDAS PRIEST," Halford says. "He's made the same metal journey as we have. We were waiting for an opportunity to work together with him again. There's a built-in feeling of security because Tom knows us so well musically. We knew we could hand him a project like this and let him go at it with all the right attributes and complete something that's going to make us happy and make the fans happy."

Japan has been an incredibly important part of JUDAS PRIEST's career. The band's first-ever live album, 1979's "Unleashed in the East (Live in Japan)", was recorded in the "Land of the Rising Sun," so it's only fitting that the eagerly awaited "Rising in the East" DVD originate from there too.

"JUDAS PRIEST was one of the first bands to invade that country with metal," Halford says. "Even though we made the DVD in Japan, it really represents the relationship that JUDAS PRIEST has with fans around the world."

Remaining dates on the second North American leg of the "Angel of Retribution" tour include:

Oct. 28 - Kelseyville, CA @ Konocti Harbor Resort & Spa
Oct. 29 - San Diego, CA @ San Diego Sports Arena
Oct. 30 - Long Beach, CA @ Long Beach Arena

Following the North American trek, JUDAS PRIEST will tour Russia and The Baltics in November and December.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).