JUDAS PRIEST: 'Rising In The East' DVD Pushed Back To January?

October 26, 2005

According to unconfirmed Internet reports, the release date of the new JUDAS PRIEST live DVD, "Rising in the East", has been pushed back to January 2006. Meanwhile, most online retailers are still listing a November 15 North American release date for the set, which was recorded at the band's May 18-19, 2005 shows at the Budokan in Tokyo, Japan. In addition, two different DVD covers have surfaced, with Play.com showing a cover image that is completely unlike the one displayed on most other sites, including Amazon.com.

The track listing for the "Rising in the East" DVD, according to Play.com, is as follows:

01. The Hellion
02. Electric Eye
03. Metal Gods
04. Riding On The Wind
05. The Ripper
06. A Touch Of Evil
07. Judas Rising
08. Hellrider
09. Victim of Changes
10. Exciter
11. Painkiller
12. Hell Bent For Leather
13. Living After Midnight
14. You've Got Another Thing Coming
15. Hot Rockin'
16. Breaking The Law
17. I'm A Rocker
18. Diamonds and Rust
19. Worth Fighting For
20. Deal With the Devil
21. Beyond the Realms of Death

In a June 2005 interview with the nationally syndicated radio show "Rockline", JUDAS PRIEST frontman Rob Halford confirmed the group's plans to release one or more live DVDs documenting PRIEST's "Angel of Retribution" tour. Halford said, "We had a wonderful moment recently where we played our hometown in Birmingham, in the Midlands, and we played at the NEC, which is like a big top-notch rock venue, and there were 10,000 metal maniacs there, and we actually filmed that show. We also filmed a show at a famous venue in Sweden called the Globe, and then more recently we filmed two nights at the Budokan in Tokyo . . so we're stock-piling all of this stuff, and eventually, when we get a little break, we'll make sense of it all, and we'll start feeding it out there. So you may get PRIEST at home in Birmingham, you might get PRIEST 'Re-Unleashed in the East' [original working title] in Japan, which is a nice idea, because as you know, that is one of our famous releases — 'Unleashed in the East'. We thought about this, because it was kind of an anniversary trip back to Japan, so we actually DVDed and we ProTooled recorded the whole show. So we're just amassing everything as we go along — we'll probably do the same here in America — and then we'll bring out little pieces, either a worldwide piece or a piece from one country, whatever, we're gonna mix it up and just keep all the stuff going for the PRIEST fans out there that can't get enough of this."

JUDAS PRIEST are continuing to tour in support of "Angel of Retribution", their first album with Halford in 15 years. "Angel of Retribution" was produced by Roy Z, who has previously worked on solo albums from Halford and IRON MAIDEN's Bruce Dickinson.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).