KALMAH: Japanese Edition Of 'For The Revolution' To Include SEPULTURA Cover

April 22, 2008

Finnish metallers KALMAH have recorded a cover version of SEPULTURA's "Arise" for inclusion on the Japanese edition of the their fifth full-length album, "For the Revolution".

In a recent interview with MetalReview.com, KALMAH guitarist Antti Kokko stated about the band's decision to cover the SEPULTURA track, "There were plenty of songs to think about, but that album as a whole [SEPULTURA's 'Arise'] is one of the milestones for us in metal history, so it was kind of obvious for me and Pekka [Kokko, guitarist/vocalist and Antti's brother]. Some of the other guys were not so pleased with that decision, but [laughs] we recorded it."

Due in Finland on April 23, "For the Revolution" was recorded at Tico Tico studio in Kemi, Finland with producer Ahti Kortelainen and was mastered at the Cutting Room in Sweden.

"For the Revolution" track listing:

01. For the Revolution
02. Dead Man's Shadow
03. Holy Symphony of War
04. Wings of Blackening
05. Ready for Salvation
06. Towards the Sky
07. Outremer
08. Coward
09. Like a Slave

KALMAH recently posted the "For the Revolution" title track on the group's MySpace page. The CD's cover artwork was designed by former SENTENCED drummer Vesa Ranta, who was also responsible for the artwork of KALMAH's previous album, "The Black Waltz".

KALMAH will embark on the Canadian "For the Revolution" tour later in the month. Support on the shows will come from Montreal's TALAMYUS.

KALMAH's last CD, "The Black Waltz", entered the Finnish national album chart in March 2006 at position No. 38. The follow-up to 2003's "Swampsong" marked the group's recording debut with keyboardist Marco Sneck (POISONBLACK).

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email