KALMAH To Release 'Palo' Album In April

February 10, 2018

Finnish melodic death metallers KALMAH will release their eighth album, "Palo", on April 6 via Spinefarm. The effort will be released on vinyl, CD, and digital formats.

The disc's first single, "The Evil Kin", can be streamed below.

Founded in 1991 and firmly led by guitarist-vocalist Pekka Kokko, KALMAH in 2018 features guitarist Antti Kokko, drummer Janne Kusmin, bass player Timo Lehtinen, and the runt of the bunch — keyboard whiz kid Veli-Matti Kananen, who has been with the band since 2012.

"Palo" marks a moment where, after years of toiling in the underground, KALMAH is coming to its own.

Antti Kokko states: "Almost 30 years of swamp madness and here we are today representing our eighth album with fishing tridents sharpened shiny. The album stands strongly on the very roots of KALMAH sound yet introduces fresh breath from the Swamplord's tar-stained lungs. 'Evil Kin' as first single gives you riffs written back in 1991 blended with melodies of KALMAH today. It's a perfect statement to show where we were and are right now."

In a time when others in the melodic death metal genre increasingly laps up influences from more commercial and contemporary genres of music, KALMAH stays true to its roots of death metal, Finnish melodic heritage, cantankerous never-say-die attitude, and themes of Northern nature and the folly of mankind.

"Palo" presents its listeners with a set of songs that with their web of melodies and in-your-face aggression exemplify the band's ongoing evolution towards becoming an international death metal powerhouse.

"Palo" track listing:

01. Blood Ran Cold
02. The Evil Kin
03. The World Of Rage
04. Into The Black Marsh
05. Take Me Away
06. Paystreak
07. Waiting In The Wings
08. Through The Shallow Waters
09. Erase And Diverge
10. The Stalker

Find more on Kalmah
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).