KATAKLYSM: Canadian Record-Launch Shows Announced

April 21, 2008

Canadian extreme metallers KATAKLYSM have confirmed the following record-launch shows in their home country for their new album, "Prevail":

June 06 - The Opera House - Toronto, ONT (with MARTYR)
June 07 - Le Medley - Montreal, QUE (with MARTYR, AUGURY)
June 08 - L'imperial - Quebec City, QUE (with MARTYR, UNEXPECT)

A brand new KATAKLYSM track, "The Chains of Power", from "Prevail", has been posted on the group's new and improved MySpace page.

Comments KATAKLYSM vocalist Maurizio Iacono: "The meaning behind the track 'The Chains of Power' is essential. It's a song the band wrote to give gratitude and strength to all the courageous soldiers who fight for our freedom. It doesn't matter if you are for or against certain wars, nor the bullshit politics that are associated with these topics.

"This track is about the people in the world that decide to take a chance with their lives in order to preserve our way of living. While we drink, rock out at concerts and take our daily lives for granted, some soldier is out there in the middle of a warfield dodging bullets and bombs. This commitment and sacrifice has to be acknowledged, it's our tribute to them and our soundtrack to give them courage."

KATAKLYSM held a listening party for "Prevail" on March 17 at The Plush Lounge at the Key Club in Hollywood, California. Among the attendees were Francine Boucher (ECHOES OF ETERNTY),Dino Cazares (DIVINE HERESY, FEAR FACTORY) and Nadja Peulen (COAL CHAMBER).

Check out photos at www.dirtjunior.com.

"Prevail" was mixed at AudioHammer Studios in Orlando, Florida with producer Jason Suecof. The CD, which is scheduled for release via Nuclear Blast Records on May 23 (Europe) and May 27 (North America),features guest solo appearances by Pat O'Brien (CANNIBAL CORPSE),Dave Linsk (OVERKILL) and producer and guitar shredder Jason Suecof himself. "Prevail" will also include a bonus DVD with a full performance recorded from a live Internet concert stream at DeepRockDrive studios in Las Vegas, NV on December 3, 2007.

Bonus DVD track listing:

01. Like Angels Weeping The Dark
02. As I Slither
03. In Shadows & Dust
04. Crippled and Broken
05. The Ambassador of Pain
06. Let Them Burn
07. Manipulator of Souls
08. The Resurrected
09. Face The Face of War
10. Where The Enemy Sleeps
11. The Road To Devastation

KATAKLYSM has been confirmed as direct support to SHADOWS FALL on a U.S. tour this April. Also appearing on the bill will be THE SHOWDOWN, ARSIS and DROID.

As previously announced, KATAKLYSM will also be direct support to THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER on this year's "Summer Slaughter Tour" alongside VADER, CRYPTOPSY, THE FACELESS, DESPISED ICON, ABORTED, BORN OF OSIRIS, PSYCROPTIC, and WHITECHAPEL.

KATAKLYSM filmed a video for the track "Taking the World by Storm" in February in New York. The clip was directed by David Brodsky, who has previously worked with GOD FORBID, GWAR and STRAPPING YOUNG LAD, among others.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email