KOBRA AND THE LOTUS Releases Lyric Video For 'Prevail' Song

October 20, 2017

The official lyric video for the song "Prevail" from Canadian hard rockers KOBRA AND THE LOTUS can be seen below. The track is taken from the band's latest album, "Prevail I", which was released on May 12 via Napalm Records. The disc was produced by Jacob Hansen (VOLBEAT, AMARANTHE, EPICA) and mastered by Grammy Award-winning engineer Ted Jensen.

Frontwoman Kobra Paige told I'm Music Magazine about the band's decision to work with Hansen this time around: "First of all, I had this feeling in my gut that I wasn't going to be able to find the evolution that I wanted to do inside of North America. I really wanted to try out a new experience with someone who was not North American. I really do think that people in different parts of the world hear music differently. That was an appealing factor to me and I've been hearing VOLBEAT's new record a lot. There was something about the clarity of it and how huge it sounded that really drew me into trying to find out who produced it and it turned out to be Jacob. I really think that on these albums, even if you listen to 'Gotham', there's so much going on there. There's a lot of guitar and a lot of vocal layering, but it is as clear as it can be."

Regarding the "Prevail" album title, Kobra said: "The track came after the project was titled and actually the title really set an attitude and precedent for us. It gave us this attitude of pushing forward and not giving up; our bass player, Brad, was the one who came up with the name. If we were really trying to make this very ambitious statement and with everything going on here, then we should call it prevail because that what we're doing. I thought it was perfect and everyone is prevailing through their own story, so it just turned into that."

"Prevail I" track listing:

01. Gotham
02. TriggerPulse
03. You Don't Know
04. Specimen X (Mortal Chamber)
05. Light Me Up
06. Manifest Destiny
07. Victim
08. Check The Phyrg
09. Hell On Earth
10. Prevail

Kobra previously stated about the story of "Prevail I", the band's most ambitious effort to date: "When we are born, we are innocent, pure, and unshaped. This mandala signifies a human at the beginning of its journey. Unscathed and beautiful, the mandala is each and every one of us. As this album unfolds, you will notice it's more than just music. 'Prevail I' is a story of visceral truth and I believe, if we're really being honest with ourselves, everyone will find their story within it. After all, the battles may differ, but we all started as the same mandala and we are more relatable than we'd like to admit. Our only wish is that you may enjoy the freaking crap out of this album and find comfort in realizing you're not alone."

Evolution is inevitable and KOBRA AND THE LOTUS has delivered its most powerful album to date, "Prevail I", with "Prevail II" to complete the story in the not-too-distant future.

Led by Kobra Paige, KOBRA AND THE LOTUS has been making a name for itself worldwide since 2010 with extensive touring and three well-received albums.

KOBRA AND THE LOTUS is loaded with exquisite precision, heavy emotion, vocal brilliance and grand-scale dynamics, highlighting the glories of classic heavy metal and rock. Known for their exceptionally strong live shows, they proudly carry the flag for all metal/hard rock fans.


Find more on Kobra and the lotus
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).