KORPIKLAANI Frontman's JONNE To Release 'Kallohonka' Album In April

March 20, 2017

Jonne Järvelä, the driving force of the internationally successful folk metal band KORPIKLAANI, will release his second folk music album titled "Kallohonka" on April 28 via Playground Music Scandinavia. The band that carries his name, JONNE, consists of ten well-known musicians from the world of rock, metal and folk music. The first single from the album is called "Vieras" and can now be heard through all music services worldwide.

Järvelä released his debut solo album, "Jonne", on 2014. The stripped and rawer interpretation of shamanistic folk music attracted great attention and gained a lot of supporters all around the world. Although it started out as a solo project, JONNE has now become a fully active live band with ten musicians from the Finnish rock, metal and folk scene. The band consists of Jonne Järvelä, Santeri Kallio (AMORPHIS),Jan Rechberger (AMORPHIS),Natalie Koskinen (SHAPE OF DESPAIR),Eero Haula (OCEANWAKE),Jussi Rautio (BATTLELORE, LOVIJATAR),Yovan Nagwetch (WABANAG),Pinja Lintonen, Matti Karjalainen and Toni Perttula. Also Ante Aikio, a well-known Saami artist, features on several tracks on the album.

"Kallohonka" is based on eternal tunes and stories about the returning to foregone roots. To set the right feel, musicians used a variety of folk music instruments, such as mandolin, kantele, fiddle, accordion and flute, yet they didn't forget about some classic live-band instruments — both acoustic and electric guitars, keyboards and percussion.

"Vieras" is the first song in which Järvelä has used a musical instrument from the Baltic psaltery family — Finnish kantele.

Another song worth mentioning is "Pimeä On Oksan Taitto" which will be featured in the Finnish fantasy/horror movie "Backwood Madness" (October 2017). "Pimeä On Oksan Taitto" is a mysterious journey in the troll-occupied fantasy world. Ville Sorvali, bassist and vocalist of of the Finnish pagan metal band MOONSORROW, appears on the track as a guest vocalist. Both the movie and the music video for the song are directed by Ari Savonen.

"Kallohonka" track listing:

01. Vieras
02. Tanssi
03. Ajan Taakse
04. En Olé
05. Pimeä On Oksan Taitto
06. Kallohongassa Kotini
07. Hulivili
08. Hauki
09. Yön Syli
10. Suojärvi
11. Rajat Ruumiini
12. Nu'tenmaqnituk


Find more on Korpiklaani
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).