LED ZEPPELIN: 'How The West Was Won' DVD-Audio Due In October

September 15, 2003

The 5.1 DVD-Audio version of LED ZEPPELIN's recently issued three-CD package, "How The West Was Won", will be released on October 13 through Warner Music Vision.

Already a phenomenal success as a CD release, "How The West Was Won" provided fans of the band with a highly anticipated compilation of hit tracks from two live shows originally recorded back in 1972.

As well as showcasing outstanding Advanced Resolution Multi-Channel Surround Sound, this 2-disc DVD-Audio album offers the original 18 tracks in Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo. Containing two and a half hours of live rock, "How The West Was Won" contains performances recorded during two concerts at the Los Angeles Forum and Long Beach Arena on June 25 and June 27 1972 — respectively. These recordings were produced by Jimmy Page, as were all of the classic LED ZEPPELIN albums.

Stunning renditions of "Stairway To Heaven", "Immigrant Song" and "Going To California" appear on Disc 1 of this 2-Disc album, while a 23-minute medley based around "Whole Lotta Love" and a breathtaking 19-minute performance of "Moby Dick" feature on Disc 2.

Exclusive color photos of the group performing live on stage introduce each track. There are also options to choose between 5.1 Surround Sound and Stereo playback, and to either explore the playlist or to simply enjoy the show. However, it is not necessary to view the menus on the screen to get to the music, as the disc will function just like a standard CD when played in any DVD player.

"How The West Was Won" was originally released as a 3CD set on May 26, the same day as "Led Zeppelin DVD". This mammoth DVD double disc contains five and a half-hours of previously unreleased concert footage, TV coverage, rare interviews, promotional clip and bootleg material in Dolby digital 5.1 Surround Sound. None of the material on the DVD is duplicated on the triple CD or double disc DVD-Audio album.

The track listing for the "How The West Was Won" 5.1 DVD-Audio is as follows:

Disc 1:

01. L.A. Drone
02. Immigrant Song
03. Heartbreaker
04. Black Dog
05. Over The Hills And Far Away
06. Since I've Been Lovin' You
07. Stairway To Heaven
08. Going To California
09. That's The Way
10. Bron-Yr-Aur Stomp
11. Dazed And Confused

Disc 2:

01. What Is And What Should Never Be
02. Dancing Days
03. Moby Dick
04. Whole Lotta Love
05. Rock And Roll
06. The Ocean
07. Bring It On Home

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email