LIONHEART Feat. Ex-IRON MAIDEN Guitarist DENNIS STRATTON: 'Flight 19' Lyric Video Released

January 16, 2024

British hard rock veterans LIONHEART have released "Flight 19"", the first single taken from their new studio album "The Grace Of A Dragonfly", set for international release on February 23 via Metalville Records.

"Flight 19" relates the story about a group of bombers that disappeared over the Bermuda Triangle on December 5, 1945, after losing contact during a United States Navy overwater navigation training flight from Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale. The song's industrial choruses convey the mysteriousness surrounding the whole affair.

As soon as the previous album "The Reality Of Miracles" hit the shelves in 2020, LIONHEART knuckled down to record the next one, deciding early on that this time they would produce a concept album. The record centers around World War II, but the band very much wanted to make this an anti-war album, while at the same time remembering those who fought for our freedom.

The songs on "The Grace Of A Dragonfly" are sensational, with Lee Small's emotional lyrics reflecting not only the pain and grief inflicted by war on ordinary, innocent people in every conflict zone, but also their strength, resilience, and determination. Supported by LIONHEART's superb songwriting, soaring backing vocals, beautiful twin-guitar harmonies, and atmospheric keyboards, LIONHEART's sheer power shines brightly from every one of the eleven songs, culminating in a heartfelt prayer for peace in the world.

"The Grace Of A Dragonfly" track listing:

01. Declaration
02. Flight 19
03. V Is For Victory
04. This Is A Woman's War
05. The Longest Night
06. The Eagle's Nest
07. Little Ships
08. Just A Man
09. UXB
10. The Grace Of A Dragonfly
11. Remembrance, Praying For World Peace

LIONHEART was founded in late 1980 by Dennis Stratton (ex-IRON MAIDEN),Steve Mann (MICHAEL SCHENKER FEST) and Rocky Newton (ex-MSG) with Clive Edwards (ex-UFO) completing the lineup a little later. The band started playing constant live shows, including regular sold-out gigs at the London Marquee Club. Between 1981 and 1984, more shows followed, including a performance at the Reading Festival 1981 and as support for DEF LEPPARD, WHITESNAKE and SAXON.

In 1984, CBS Records offered LIONHEART a contract. With the new singer Chad Brown, the debut album, "Hot Tonight", was recorded in Los Angeles. Phil Lanzon (URIAH HEEP) joined the band as a new keyboardist before Chad Brown was replaced by Keith Murrell (AIRRACE, MAMA'S BOYS) in 1985. The band was hit with managerial problems, and it was felt that the momentum was gone, and LIONHEART disbanded in 1985.

Rocky subsequently sang background vocals on the DEF LEPPARD albums "Pyromania" and "Hysteria" before joining the MICHAEL SCHENKER GROUP. Steve set up his first commercial studio and then hooked up with Rocky again in the MCAULEY SCHENKER GROUP. Dennis began a 15-year collaboration with PRAYING MANTIS. Clive went on to play with Bernie Marsden and UFO.

In 1999, LIONHEART released a double album with old demos, which sold well and once again generated interest in the band. In 2016, the organisers of the Rockingham Festival in Nottingham invited LIONHEART to play a reunion show. The four founding members seized the opportunity and brought the former SHY frontman Lee Small on board as lead singer. The show received fantastic reviews, and they decided to record another album.

"Second Nature" was released to critical acclaim in 2017 and was voted "AOR Album Of The Year" by Classic Rock magazine. This was followed by an appearance at Sweden Rock Festival, mini co-headline tours through Japan with PRAYING MANTIS, and a U.K. tour with AIRRACE.

As the Christmas single "Mary Did You Know" was released in December 2018, the musicians were already recording the follow-up album. Although most of 2019 was taken up by the other projects, the band members got together in downtime to record "The Reality Of Miracles". The 13 songs were recorded in Steve Mann's studio in Hannover. Steve also produced, mixed and mastered the album.



* Dennis Stratton - former guitarist with IRON MAIDEN
* Steve Mann - current guitarist and keyboardist with MICHAEL SCHENKER
* Rocky Newton - former bass player and backing vocalist with MCAULEY SCHENKER GROUP
* Clive Edwards - former drummer with UFO, WILD HORSES and ULI ROTH
* Lee Small - former lead vocalist with SHY and PHENOMENA

Find more on Lionheart
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).