Listen To FU MANCHU's 'Il Mostro Atomico' Feat. Guest Appearance By RUSH's ALEX LIFESON

February 8, 2018

The song "Il Mostro Atomico" from Southern Californian hard rockers FU MANCHU can be streamed using the SoundCloud widget below. The track is an 18-minute-8-second side-long epic featuring a special guest performance by Alex Lifeson, guitarist and songwriter of the legendary band RUSH. Heavier than anything FU MANCHU has ever done and broken into four distinct sections, it's new ground for a band that's been pushing the boundaries of "fuzz and wah" since its formation in 1990.

"Il Mostro Atomico" is taken from FU MANCHU's 12th studio album, "Clone Of The Universe", which will be released on February 9 via the group's own label At The Dojo Records. The upcoming record will be their first in four years, following the 2014 release of "Gigantoid".

"Clone Of The Universe" marks a new chapter for the "fuzz rock" pioneers as they mix the straight ahead blistering rock with unexpected time shifts, featuring tracks like the roaring cuts "Don't Panic" and "(I've Been) Hexed" and the dynamically complex "Clone Of The Universe" and "Slower Than Light".

"We are excited to get out and play this stuff, especially 'Il Mostro Atomico'," said founding guitarist Scott Hill. "We think it's some the strongest music we've ever done. We really love the overall sound of the album and having Alex play on it is just incredible. It gives it that special validation for the idea that we had to try something like a side long song."

The album was recorded and produced by FU MANCHU and Jim Monroe at The Racket Room in Santa Ana, California, with additional recording by Andrew Giacumakis at Susstudio in Simi Valley, California.

"Clone Of The Universe" track listing:

01. Intelligent Worship (3:08)
02. (I've Been) Hexed (2:48)
03. Don't Panic (2:05)
04. Slower Than Light (3:26)
05. Nowhere Left To Hide (4:19)
06. Clone Of The Universe (2:58)
07. Il Mostro Atomico (18:08)

FU MANCHU is Scott Hill (vocals, guitar),Bob Balch (guitar),Brad Davis (bass) and Scott Reeder (drums and percussion).

Photo credit: John Gilhooley

Find more on Fu manchu
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).