Listen To New AUTHOR & PUNISHER Song 'Night Terror'

September 5, 2018

Industrial metal visionary AUTHOR & PUNISHER will deliver his sixth full-length recording and Relapse debut, "Beastland", on October 5. The album's second single, "Night Terror", can now be streamed below.

AUTHOR & PUNISHER creator/sole artist Tristan Shone commented: "I built new machines for this album to make more aggressive and dynamic music. These devices are compact and powerful, made from robotic components, intended for high-energy repetition.

"I, as do many others, feel rage against the Beasts of our era: those who horde, who poison, or who discriminate. We need aggressive music to make an aggressive statement. 'Beastland' is an introspection of who we are as a human race.

"At a time when we have the tools, the intellect, and the history to remind us how to treat each other and the earth, we go far out of our way to feast on the less fortunate and vulnerable, disregarding the atrocities and lessons of the past."

Drawing inspiration from his career as a mechanical engineer, Shone forged a relationship with design, sound, and fabrication that ultimately yielded his hand-built "Drone Machines" which mapped the journey away from traditional instrumentation towards custom-made "precision machinery." A robotic experimentation in industrial metal, noise, doom and drone, AUTHOR & PUNISHER recalls NINE INCH NAILS channeling GODFLESH, traversing through dark, uncompromising, and often disturbing soundscapes with occasional detours into rich melodies and splinters of light. Armed with newly built "Drone Machines" and a new label, "Beastland" is AUTHOR & PUNISHER's career-defining statement and a powerful listening experience that further blurs the line between man and machine.

"Beastland" was recorded at K Street in San Diego, California and engineered by Tristan Shone and John Cota (DEATH EYES). Additional recording was done in Las Cruces, New Mexico with Jason Begin (VYTEAR). The album was co-produced with Braden Diotte (FAUST, EXO//ENDO, NEUROSIS),mixed by Kurt Ballou at GodCity and mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege.

AUTHOR & PUNISHER will return to Europe in October after the release of "Beastland", including for select concerts with GODFLESH, CONAN and more. Also, he recently announced the first leg of fall U.S. tour dates. Finally, AUTHOR & PUNISHER will perform at Cold Waves festival throughout September in New York, Chicago and Los Angeles.

"Beastland" track listing:

01. Pharmacide
02. Nihil Strength
03. Ode to Bedlam
04. The Speaker is Systematically Blown
05. Nazarene
06. Apparition
07. Night Terror
08. Beastland

Photo credit: Auge Arredondo

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).