Listen To New FOO FIGHTERS Song 'The Line'

September 7, 2017

"The Line", a brand new song from the FOO FIGHTERS, can be streamed below. The track is taken from the band's ninth studio album, "Concrete And Gold", which will be released on September 15 via Roswell Records/RCA Records.

"The Line" pairs a signature FOO FIGHTERS propulsive melody with an urgent heartfelt lyric and rousing chorus described by composer Dave Grohl as "a search for hope in this day and age where you feel as if you're fighting for your life with every passing moment, and everything is on the line."

"The Line" is the third of "Concrete And Gold"'s eleven songs to be unveiled ahead of the album's impending arrival, the second being "The Sky Is A Neighborhood", visually realized as a Grohl-directed kaleidoscopic sci-fi mini-epic as massive as the slow burning rock anthem that gave it life — one of the most striking entries of the FOO FIGHTERS' video canon, and the first one to score the band coverage on The run-up to "Concrete And Gold" began just as auspiciously, with the June 1 surprise release of the Billboard Mainstream Rock #1 smash "Run". With more than two million YouTube views in its first twenty-four hours, "Run" rocketed into the Top 5 of the iTunes video chart and the top Top 15 iTunes singles chart — quickly amassing the highest first-day numbers of any single in the FOO FIGHTERS' career.

"Concrete And Gold" will naturally be supported with a grueling trek of the arena, stadium and festival stages of the world. The U.S. leg kicks off October 7 with the band's Cal Jam 17 festival at Glen Helen Regional Park in San Bernardino, California: a non-stop, one-hundred-percent-live twelve-hour rock and roll extravaganza featuring camping, carnival rides, a water park, attractions, a mobile recording studio and so much more.

"Concrete And Gold" was written and performed by FOO FIGHTERS, produced by Greg Kurstin and FOO FIGHTERS, and mixed by Darrell Thorp.

Grohl recently revealed that Justin Timberlake is the mystery guest on "Concrete And Gold". He explained that Timberlake was recording at the same Los Angeles studio and would hang out with the FOO FIGHTERS. Grohl explained: "We'd drink whiskey in the parking lot. He was really, really cool. Then the night before his last day, he says, 'Can I sing on your record? I don't want to push it, but — I just want to be able to tell my friends.'"

Timberlake ended up doing background "la la la" vocals on one song on the LP, which was not identified. Grohl said that Timberlake "nailed" the part, adding, "I'm telling you, the guy's going somewhere."

Grohl first teased fans about the collaboration in June, telling fans, "I'd never spent time with this person, and we had a blast together."

Other cameos on the disc include Paul McCartney, THE BIRD AND THE BEE's Inara George, THE KILLS' Alison Mosshart and BOYZ II MEN singer Shawn Stockman.

"Concrete And Gold" track listing:

01. T-Shirt
02. Run
03. Make It Right
04. The Sky Is A Neighborhood
05. La Dee Da
06. Dirty Water
07. Arrows
08. Happy Ever After (Zero Hour)
09. Sunday Rain
10. The Line
11. Concrete And Gold

Find more on Foo fighters
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).