Detroit noise rock collective CHILD BITE will release "Burnt Offerings" this spring via Housecore Records. A 2-CD set, "Burnt Offerings" is a compilation of CHILD BITE rarities culled from the last eight years of audio bedlam. The record boasts a menacing twenty-eight tracks including several unreleased tunes as well as cover songs featuring Housecore owner and former PANTERA frontman Philip Anselmo.

"Here we have all of our loose ends," elaborates frontman Shawn Knight. "Lots of great stuff that's either out-of-print or never came out for one reason or another. This serves as a mass grave for all of our musical orphans..."

"This whole project came to mind when both our guitarist and drummer left the band last summer," he continues. "We had put out so many random bits and pieces over the years, not to mention a full album's worth of unreleased songs, that it really felt like a good time to take stock and officially wrap up that chapter of the band. The first six tracks [from disc 1] are from vinyl-only split EPs we've put out. We've found that our strongest writing comes in small batches. These songs were written and recorded as pairs, and are some of our best tunes, not to mention some of the best sounding recordings we've ever had. Tracks seven through ten were meant for what became 'Negative Noise', but soon after we recorded these demos we got a new drummer and we started moving in a different direction. These quick studio recordings have been collecting dust now for nearly five years... Tracks eleven through thirteen were recorded down at Anselmo's place on our way south for a big tour with VOIVOD and KING PARROT. A couple members felt that the songs weren't ready for prime time so we held off from using them until now. I wouldn't be surprised if we revisited one or two of these in the future."

"Burnt Offerings" will be available on May 11 as a 2-CD digipak with a fold-out poster.

"Burnt Offerings" track listing:

Disc 1:

01. The Will To Disappear
02. Stag Thrall
03. Gang Omega
04. Sick & Subhuman
05. Prowl
06. Modern Torment
07. Abstract Interior Putrefaction
08. Feeding Tube Blues
09. Stroke the Negative
10. Carrion Tabernacle
11. Throb Forever
12. Corrosive Devotion
13. As I Approach The Void
14. Jerk Off Your Life

Disc 2:

01. My War
02. Police Truck
03. Earth A.D. / We Bite
04. I Against I / Jam
05. Guilty of Being White / It Follows
06. Hey!
07. Don't
08. Unbridled
09. Siege*
10. Morrisey*
11. Chump Change*
12. Radio Hit*
13. Song #5*
14. The Usurper*

* featuring Philip Anselmo

Three songs from "Burnt Offerings", including covers of CELTIC FROST's "The Usurper" and ANAL C**T's "Chump Change" — both featuring Anselmo — can be streamed below.

CHILD BITE is an American noise rock/hardcore punk/heavy metal band formed in 2005 in Detroit, Michigan. The band's core members are founding vocalist Shawn Knight and long-time bassist Sean Clancy. CHILD BITE has released four full-length albums and ten EPs over the past twelve years, all featuring artwork by Shawn Knight.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).