Listen to Previously Unreleased WHITE ZOMBIE Song 'Scarecrow #2'

May 11, 2016

Numero Group's "It Came From N.Y.C." — the quintessential resurrection of WHITE ZOMBIE's eternally out-of-print early EPs and LPs — will be made available on June 3. This set is the most exhaustive attempt so far to document the band's wondrously ugly birth. Get reintroduced to WHITE ZOMBIE as New York noise-rock, a grotesque creation that clawed and threatened its way to crossover metal glory.

In anticipation of the release, WHITE ZOMBIE bassist Sean Yseult sat down with the Wall Street Journal to reflect on the old days of the band and share some unheard music. The interview covers everything from their influences, to how Yseult and Rob Zombie co-founded the band, how they scraped cash together to press their early records, and beyond.

A newly unearthed WHITE ZOMBIE track recorded in 1986, titled "Scarecrow #2", can be streamed below.

Years before Beavis and Butt-head headbanged "Thunder Kiss '65" and "More Human than Human" into the eternal rock video canon, there was primordial WHITE ZOMBIE — a diabolically loud by-product of Manhattan's underground rock scene, born of art-school rendezvous and squalid apartment circumstance.

"It Came From N.Y.C." is the most exhaustive attempt so far to document the band's wondrously ugly birth. Get reintroduced to WHITE ZOMBIE as New York noise-rock, a grotesque creation that clawed and threatened its way to crossover metal glory.

Spread across five LPs or three compact discs, all 39 tracks have been remastered by WHITE ZOMBIE guitarist J. Yuenger and packaged alongside the original lurid artwork. The accompanying 108-page book painstakingly documents WHITE ZOMBIE's punishing progression through scores of unpublished photos, period discography, a T-shirtography, and tales from the terrifying early years that stitch together the sordid story of a band whose true power eclipsed its mainstream heyday.

"It Came From N.Y.C." package details:

* 5LPs or 3 CDs
* 108-page hardcover book
* 20,000 word essay by Grayson Currin
* Flyer gallery
* Complete shirtography, 1985-1990
* 50 previously unpublished photographs
* Available on black, white*, and Toxic Waste Green* vinyl

*only available via Numero Group website

"It Came From N.Y.C." track listing:

"God's On Voodoo Moon" 7" - 1985

01. Gentleman Junkie
02. King Of Souls
03. Tales From The Scare Crow Man
04. Cat's Eye Resurrection
05. Black Friday*
06. Dead or Alive*

"Pig Heaven" 7" - 1986

01. Pig Heaven
02. Slaughter The Grey
03. Scarecrow #2*
04. Red River Flow*
05. Rain Insane*
06. Paradise Fireball*

"Psycho-Head Blowout" 12" EP - 1987

01. Eighty-Eight
02. Fast Jungle
03. Gun Crazy
04. Kick
05. Memphis
06. Magdalene
07. True Crime

"Soul-Crusher" 12" LP - 1987

01. Ratmouth
02. Shack Of Hate
03. Drowning The Colossus
04. Crow III
05. Die Zombie Die
06. Skin
07. Truck On Fire
08. Future Shock
09. Scum Kill
10. Diamond Ass

"Make Them Die Slowly" 12" LP - 1989

01. Demonspeed
02. Disaster Blaster
03. Murderworld
04. Revenge
05. Acid Flesh
06. Power Hungry
07. Godslayer

"God Of Thunder" 12" EP - 1989

01. God Of Thunder
02. Love Razor
03. Disaster Blaster-2

*Previously unissued

Pre-order here via Numero Group.


Find more on White zombie
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).