MACHINE HEAD: Second Studio Webisode Posted Online

May 16, 2011

The second in a series of webisodes featuring behind-the-scenes footage from the recording sessions for the as-yet-untitled seventh album from San Francisco Bay Area metallers MACHINE HEAD can be viewed below. The CD is currently being recorded at GREEN DAY's Jingletown Studios in Oakland, California for a tentative September release via Roadrunner Records.

Check out photos from the studio at this location.

When asked about the lyrical themes covered on MACHINE HEAD's new CD, guitarist/vocalist Robb Flynn told "Metal Zone" host Nikki Blakk of the San Francisco, California radio station 107.7 The Bone, "One song we've got called 'Locust', it's... the way the locusts fly when they fly in swarms, they can fly, but they can't control which direction they go, so they can only float on the wind, and they come down and they cause all this destruction and they fly away, go wherever the wind takes them again. And the song's basically a metaphor for a type of person that sometimes comes into your life and has that effect."

Regarding what new things MACHINE HEAD fans can expect to hear on the band's forthcoming CD, drummer Dave McClain told Horns Up Rocks!, "For the past two records [as well as] this one, we've really been writing for ourselves. And we don't really have a set plan; we didn't really sit down and even go, like, 'We had a bunch of long songs on the last record, we've gotta do a bunch of short ones.' We had some time off and we started itching to get back in and start writing just whatever was flowing out. And it's killer, man; it's super-exciting. We're all really, really excited about what happened, what came out. We feel like we've got another kick-ass album on our hands and we can't wait for everybody to hear it."

Working songtitles for next MACHINE HEAD album:

* This Is The End
* Who We Are
* Pearls Before Swine
* Under The August Moon
* I Am Hell
* Darkness Within
* Locust

Photo credit: Scott "Captain" Kirkeeng

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).