MARTIN VAN DRUNEN Interviewed On 'Heavy Metal Thunder' (Audio)

January 19, 2011

DJ JC Green of Metal Messiah Radio's "Heavy Metal Thunder" show recently conducted an interview with Martin Van Drunen (HAIL OF BULLETS, ASPHYX, PESTILENCE). You can now listen to the chat using the audio player below.

Interview (audio):

"On Divine Winds", the second full-length album from HAIL OF BULLETS, entered the German Media Control chart at position No. 75. The CD was released in North America on October 12, 2010 via Metal Blade Records (one day earlier internationally). The group recorded 11 songs plus an intro for the album, which, like its predecessor, was produced by drummer Ed Warby was mixed by Swedish producer/multi-instrumentalist Dan Swanö (EDGE OF SANITY, BLOODBATH, NIGHTINGALE).

HAIL OF BULLETS' debut album "…Of Frost And War" was a concept album about the Eastern front war of Germany. "On Divine Winds" is another concept effort, this time covering the Pacific battles between Japan and the USA.

The album title "On Divine Winds" is a translation of the Japanese word "kamikaze," as kami stands for "God" and kaze means "wind."

"On Divine Winds" features 12 tracks on the limited first digibook edition and 11 song on the regular jewelcase version.

ASPHYX will enter Sonic Assault studio later this month with engineer Frank Klein Douwel to begin recording the first four songs for the band's forthcoming album, "Deathhammer". Songtitles set to appear on the CD include "Reign Of The Brute", "Vespa Cabro", "We Doom You To Death", "Asphyx-Minefield" and "Deathhammer". Axel Hermann will create the cover artwork while Dan Swanö (BLOODBATH, EDGE OF SANITY) will take care of the mixing duties.

ASPHYX recently entered Sonic Assault studio to record two new songs — a cover version of the MAJESTY classic "Bestial Vomit" and the new song "We Doom You To Death". The MAJESTY cover will appear on the upcoming split seven-inch with Dutch death/thrash band THANATOS and will feature lyrics in Dutch dialect while "We Doom You To Death" will be included on a split seven-inch single with Finnish doom/deathsters HOODED MENACE.

ASPHYX parted ways with bassist Wannes Gubbels last year and replaced him with Alwin Zuur (PULVERIZER, ESCUTCHEON).

ASPHYX 2011 is:

Martin van Drunen (vocals)
Alwin Zuur (bass)
Paul Baayens (guitar)
Bob Bagchus (drums)



Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).