'Masters Of Horror' Soundtrack Preview Available Online

October 15, 2005

In an unprecedented move, Immortal Records has teamed up with Myspace.com to preview 16 previously unreleased tracks from their upcoming soundtrack for the TV anthology "Masters of Horror" (Showtime) on www.myspace.com/mastersofhorror. The highly anticipated, 30-song double-disc comes out on October 18.

The "Masters of Horror" preview which runs now through release date, features today's top metal, metalcore, punk, screamo and emo bands, including MUDVAYNE, Buckethead featuring SYSTEM OF A DOWN singer Serj Tankian, IN FLAMES, THURSDAY, MASTODON, AVENGED SEVENFOLD, SHADOWS FALL, RISE AGAINST and EVERY TIME I DIE. This marks the first time these songs have been available to the public.

"Masters of Horror", which debuts on Showtime in time for Halloween and runs through the end of January 2006, features 13 chilling hour-long films directed by top North American horror auteurs, including John Carpenter ("Halloween"),Tope Hooper ("Texas Chainsaw Massacre"),John Landis ("An American Werewolf in London"),Don Coscarelli ("Phantasm"),Mick Garris ("The Stand"),Stuart Gordon ("Re-Animator"),and William Malone ("FearDotCom"). The series also attracted several huge international directors, including Dario Argento ("Suspiria") and Takashi Miike ("Audition"). Each episode in the anthology will include music from the soundtrack.

In addition, videos were recently shot for IT DIES TODAY's "Enjoy the Silence" and Buckethead and Tankian's "We Are One". The IT DIES TODAY video was directed by S. Pax Franchot IV and combines the look and feel of early David Lynch with plot elements from stories by Edgar Allen Poe. The "We Are One" video features Tankian as a derelict vagabond that collects animal carcasses for Buckethead, a benevolent cabin dweller who attempts to bring the dead animals back to life. In his attempt to resurrect the carcasses, Buckethead winds up being attacked by the mutating creatures. "I think the track lends itself well to the horror genre," Tankian says.

The "Masters of Horror" preview on Myspace will also showcase previously unreleased songs by ANDREW WK, NORMA JEAN, FROM AUTUMN TO ASHES, ALKALINE TRIO, SCARY KIDS SCARING KIDS and FUNERAL FOR A FRIEND.

"I've always felt we would make a good date with horror flicks. Now it's time to prove it," says AVENGED SEVENFOLD singer M. Shadows. "The live recording of 'Beast and the Harlot' that we contributed is very in your face and driving and will team up nicely with whatever scares will be created in the movie it gets used in."

"The feeling of 'horror' is a very particular one," Andrew WK adds. "My song 'You Will Remember Tonight' attempts to take that dreadful feeling and manipulate it into some thing thrilling and exciting. I think that's essentially what horror movies are trying to do, too. It feels good to feel scared."

"Masters of Horror" developed out of an informal bi-monthly dinner attended by many of the horror genre's most admired directors. Garris, who spearheaded the series, took their ideas from the realm of fantasy into reality along with co-executive producer Andrew Dean, and will be the showrunner of the anthology. "Masters of Horror" is an IDT Entertainment production.

"Masters of Horror" soundtrack final track listing:


01. MUDVAYNE - "Small Silhouette"
02. NORMA JEAN - "ShaunLuu"
03. IT DIES TODAY - "Enjoy The Silence"
04. FUNERAL FOR A FRIEND - "Lazarus (In The Wilderness)"
05. ANDREW WK - "You Will Remember Tonight"
06. ARMOR FOR SLEEP - "Very Invisible"
08. SHADOWS FALL - "This Is My Own"
09. THE BLED - "Nervous Breakdown"
10. MURDER BY DEATH - "End Of The Road"
11. THURSDAY - "Division St" (acoustic)
12. BLOODSIMPLE - "Overload"
13. MASTODON - "Megalodon" (live)
14. DEATH BY STEREO - "Bottled Up"
15. FALL RIVER - "At Least You Bought Her Flowers"


01. BUCKETHEAD feat. SERJ TANKIAN - "We Are One"
02. RISE AGAINST - "Obstructed"
03. THE BRONX! - "Bats"
04. FROM AUTUMN TO ASHES - "Betwixt Her Getaway Sticks"
05. EVERY TIME I DIE - "Keith The Music"
06. MATCHBOOK ROMANCE - "In Transit (For You)"
07. BEDLIGHT FOR BLUE EYES - "Hindsight"
08. ALKALINE TRIO - "We Can Never Break Up"
09. AVENGED SEVENFOLD - "Beast and the Harlot" (live)
10. IN FLAMES - "Discover Me Like Emptiness"
11. A CHANGE OF PACE - "The Thin Red Line"
12. BEAR VS SHARK - "Victoria Iceberg"
13. GRATITUDE - "If Ever" (acoustic)
15. YESTERDAY'S RISING - "Contrast of Light and Dark"

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).