MAYAN: 'Antagonise' Cover Artwork Unveiled

October 29, 2013

MAYAN — the band featuring EPICA guitarist/songwriter Mark Jansen alongside Jack Driessen (ex-AFTER FOREVER) and Frank Schiphorst — will release its sophomore album, "Antagonise", on January 31, 2014 via Nuclear Blast Records. The 11-song CD, which was recorded at Sandlane studio with producer Joost Van Der Broek (REVAMP, STREAM OF PASSION),features guest appearances by Floor Jansen (NIGHTWISH, REVAMP),Marcela Bovio (STREAM OF PASSION) and the Greek virtuozo violinist Dimitris Katsoulis.

The cover artwork for "Antagonise" was created by Stefan Heilemann, who previously worked on MAYAN's debut album, "Quarterpast".

Comments Jansen: "The cover is based on the lyrics for our upcoming album, 'Antagonise'.

"Stefan doesn't need any directions; he reads the lyrics and comes up with a phenomenal piece of art. That's why we love working with this guy!

"When Snowden revealed the information about the mass electronic surveillance data mining program called Prism, what quite some people already thought became a proven fact. We all have been spied on for many years and all our data has been backed up and safely stored. It can be used any time it's needed. All of this in the name of 'war against terrorism,' which, in fact, basically is a cover-up and a way to bring fear to people in order to get them under control. This trick has already been used many times in the past. History just keeps repeating itself.

"The media were covering the story, but politicians around the world, and in Europe in particular, didn't know how to react and remained silent. America is an ally, and not just a little one.

"Since it became clear that the NSA (and let's not forget about their British partners in crime of the GCHQ) have also been spying on many world leaders, things have changed. Now it's finally all over the news!

"Is this the beginning of a turning point in history? Or will we allow a small group of elites to take all our freedom away for their own benefits?

"The constitution, the basis of our democracy, is not being respected.

"Don't get yourself fooled, this is not in our interest.

"If you want to see the truth, you'll see the truth.

"We are what we eat!? A bunch of chickens, imprisoned and fully under control with no freedom whatsoever. This is what we will possibly become. If we let it all just happen...

"George Orwell, eat your heart out."

"Antagonise" track listing:

01. Bloodline Forfeit
02. Burn Your Witches
03. Redemption - The Democracy Illusion
04. Paladins Of Deceit - National Security Extremism Part 1
05. Lone Wolf
06. Devil In Disguise
07. Insano
08. Human Sacrifice
09. Enemies Of Freedom
10. Capital Punishment
11. Faceless Spies - National Security Extremism Part 2

Henning Basse (LINGUA MORTIS ORCHESTRA) and Laura Macri recently joined MAYAN as permanent members.


Mark Jansen - grunts, screams
Henning Basse - vocals
Laura Macri - soprano
Jack Driessen - keys
Frank Schiphorst - guitar
Rob van der Loo - bass
Arien van Weesenbeek - drums

MAYAN will present "Antagonise" at two Dutch CD-reloease shows: on January 30 at Mezz in Breda and on January 31, 2014 at Tivoli in Utrecht.

Guitarist Isaac Delahaye (EPICA) recently left MAYAN because he "wanted to concentrate on other things."

MAYAN's debut album, "Quarterpast", was released in Europe on May 20, 2011 and in North America on July 12, 2011 via Nuclear Blast Records. The CD was recorded and mixed by Sascha Paeth (EPICA, KAMELOT).


Find more on Epica
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).