MEGADETH's DAVID ELLEFSON Reunites With CHRIS POLAND On 'Hammer (Comes Down)' Song (Audio)

June 28, 2019

MEGADETH bassist David Ellefson has released a lyric video for "Hammer (Comes Down)", from his upcoming debut solo album, "Sleeping Giants". Due on July 19 via Combat Records, it is a companion release to his new memoir "More Life With Deth", in stores July 16 via Jawbone Press.

"Hammer (Comes Down)" features lead vocals by Ellefson's "More Life With Deth" co-author Thom Hazaert and FLOTSAM AND JETSAM vocalist Eric "A.K.." Knutson, plus guest appearances by Mark Tremonti (ALTER BRIDGE),Chris Poland (ex-MEGADETH),Dave McClain (SACRED REICH, ex-MACHINE HEAD),Joey Radziwill (SACRED REICH) and Andy Martongelli (ALTITUDES AND ATTITUDE).

The "Hammer (Comes Down)" video was directed and edited by Melody Myers.

Produced by Ellefson and Hazaert, with additional production from ICON guitarist John Aquilino at the Platinum Underground in Phoenix, "Sleeping Giants" will feature a multitude of other guests, including legendary MC Darryl "DMC" McDaniels, who shares vocals with Hazaert on the title track, Ken Mary (ALICE COOPER, FLOTSAM AND JETSAM),Steve Conley (FLOTSAM AND JETSAM, F5),Ethan Brosh, Ron "Bumblefoot" Thal (GUNS N' ROSES),Dave Sharpe and Opus Lawrence of DEAD BY WEDNESDAY, Illias Papadakis (MEMORAIN),and more, plus a remix by "Game Of Thones" star Kristian Nairn (HODOR),and unreleased songwriting demos featuring vocals by John Bush (ARMORED SAINT, ex-ANTHRAX),and David Glen Eisley (HOUSE OF LORDS, GIUFFRIA).

"Hammer (Comes Down)" features a long-awaited fan reunion of Ellefson and Poland, making their first commercially released collaboration since MEGADETH's iconic "Peace Sells.. But Who's Buying?" album.

Says Ellefson: "It was great to reconnect with Chris, musically and personally, who is still, and always has been, one of the most innovative players in metal.

"When we were working on putting together the record, Thom had brought up the idea to Chris of him playing on a track, and somehow it all worked out," he continues. "Add some killer solos from Chris Poland, on to a song that already features Mark Tremonti, Dave McClain, and Eric AK from FLOTSAM, and you can only imagine how incredible it came out. It's truly an epic collaboration, and we couldn't be more excited about it."

"Sleeping Giants" track listing:

Disc 1:

Ellefson/Hazaert 2019

01. Vultures
02. Sleeping Giants (ft. DMC)
03. Hammer (Comes Down) (ft. Mark Tremonti, Chris Poland, and Eric AK)
04. Vultures (Kristian Nairn Remix)
05. If You Were God (ft. John Bush) *

F5 Demos

06. Deadman Rise
07. I Fall
08. Bleeding
09. Why Can't We Die
10. Dying On The Vine
11. Faded
12. Undeniable
13. Feel Your Pain
14. Out In The Rain (ft. David Glen Eisley) *
15. Voices (ft. David Glen Eisley) *

* Previously unreleased demo

Disc 2: EMP/Combat Artist Sampler

01. LAST CRACK - "Golden Age"
02. CO-OP (ft. Joe Perry) - "Howl"
03. GREEN DEATH (ft. David Ellefson) - "Pure Torture"
04. SEMBLANT - "Scarlet Heritage - Legacy of Blood Pt. III"
05. HATCHET - "Back Into Dust"
06. MARC RIZZO - "Downside Up"
07. MARK SLAUGHTER - "Conspiracy"
08. DOYLE (ft. Alissa White-Gluz) - "Kiss Me As We Die"
09. DEAD BY WEDNESDAY - "You & Die"
10. EVIL UNITED (ft. Jason McMaster) - "Operation Overlord"
11. SUNFLOWER DEAD - "Turn Away" (Radio Edit)
12. ARISE IN CHAOS - "The Divine"
13. DOLL SKIN - "Daughter"
14. PSYKOTRIBE (ft. David Ellefson) - "End It"
15. ARCHER NATION - "Severed"
16. RON KEEL BAND - "Fight Like A Band"
17. WRATH - "Draw Blood"

Ellefson and Hazaert, with backing band Dave Sharpe and Opus Lawrence of DEAD BY WEDNESDAY, and Clayton Cagle of HATCHET, will kick off the "Basstory More Life With Deth" tour next week with shows throughout the East Coast and Midwest, plus coast-to-coast book signing and in-store events.

Find more on Megadeth
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email