MESHIAAK Feat. Former SLAYER/TESTAMENT Drummer JON DETTE: 'Drowning, Fading, Falling' Video Released

June 8, 2016

"Drowning, Fading, Falling", the new video from MESHIAAK, can be seen below. The song is taken from the band's upcoming debut album, "Alliance Of Thieves", which will be released on August 19 via Mascot. The CD was recorded at GREEN DAY's Jingletown Recording Studios in Oakland, California.

Based in Melbourne, Australia, MESHIAAK features veteran extreme metal drummer Jon Dette, who has played with SLAYER, ANTHRAX, TESTAMENT and ICED EARTH, alongside TERAMAZE guitarist Dean Wells, former 4ARM frontman Danny Tomb and bassist Nick Walker.

Wells says: "We went with keeping the sound as band-orientated and organic as possible, but with using a lot of modern technology.

"It's a blend of old and new because we recorded to two-inch tape for the drums through an old Neve desk, but the rest of the album was produced in my home studio.

"We also went with a mixer named Jacob Hansen who is known for a lot more progressive music. But I think the combination really gives MESHIAAK a new and fresher sound than most traditional thrash albums.

"And so we've tried to create something fresh among the guidelines of traditional metal and thrash with some progressive elements, although at the same time we wanted to make music feel like when we first discovered bands like MEGADETH, METALLICA, MACHINE HEAD... even ALICE IN CHAINS and SLIPKNOT."

Wells adds that the progressive overtones in MESHIAAK's music come largely from his interest in other musical genres not typically associated with an extreme metal band. He says: "I have a lot of influences outside the metal world such as TOOL and DREAM THEATER, and a lot of guitar instrumentalists as well like Guthrie Govan and Joe Satriani.

"At times, I had to be brought back into line to keep things metal and exciting. I think that's what makes MESHIAAK unique — the melting pot of influences we have. Perfect soundtrack for punch-ups with your mates."

"Alliance Of Thieves" track listing:

01. Chronicles Of The Dead
02. It Burns At Both Ends
03. I Am Among You
04. Drowning, Fading, Falling
05. At The Edge Of The World
06. Last Breath Taken
07. Maniacal
08. Alliance Of Thieves
09. Death Of An Anthem


Find more on Meshiaak
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).