MESHUGGAH DVD Director Interviewed; Audio Available

February 28, 2010

Rock My Monkey recently conducted an interview with producer/director Ian McFarland of Killswitch Productions about MESHUGGAH's recently released first-ever DVD, "Alive". The chat is now available for streaming using the audio player below.

"Alive" sold around 3,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release to debut at position No. 8 on the Top Music Videos chart. Produced and directed by McFarland, the DVD is comprised of live concert footage of the band performing tracks off their Billboard Top 200-charting 2008 release, "obZen", and their time-tested career staples shot during MESHUGGAH's 2009 North American tour and 2008's performance at the Loud Park festival in Tokyo. The result is a visceral, visual abduction into the band's metric insanity-in-action. Gracefully interlacing the live tracks are behind-the-scenes vignettes shot in black and white that give "Alive" a concert film feel that is unlike many of the live DVDs currently on the market.

Contents of the "Alive" concert film include:


01. Begin
02. Perpetual Black Second (Tokyo)
03. Twenty Two Hours
04. Pravus (Tokyo)
05. Dissemination
06. Bleed (NYC)
07. Ritual
08. New Millenium Cyanide Christ (Montreal)
09. Cleanse
10. Stengah (Montreal)
11. The Mouth Licking What You've Bled (Montreal)
12. Machine
13. Electric Red (Tokyo)
14. Solidarius
15. Rational Gaze (Tokyo)
16. Moment
17. Lethargica (Toronto)
18. Communicate
19. Combustion (Toronto)
21. Straws Pulled At Random (Toronto)
20. Humiliative (Montreal)
22. Straws Pulled At Random (Toronto)
23. End

Bonus Material:

01. "Bleed" Music Video
02. The Making Of "Bleed"
03. Micha's Guitar Tour
04. Tomas Haake's Drum Tour

Live Audio CD:

01. Perpetual Black Second
02. Electric Red
03. Rational Gaze
04. Pravus
05. Lethargica
06. Combustion
07. Straws Pulled At Random
08. New Millenium Cyanide Christ
09. Stengah
10. The Mouth Licking What You've Bled
11. Humiliative
12. Bleed

Commented MESHUGGAH guitarist Mårten Hagström: "Being onstage in that chaotic environment, how to directly transfer what that feels like in a live situation over to a DVD is pretty much impossible. For us, it wasn't only about capturing the most bad-ass live set we could produce, but we wanted to represent what it was like on the road. That's why we included four shows rather than one consecutive live show. We wanted it to feel authentic. It was a challenge, but you have to go off the word of the people that know what you look like from on the stage, and it feels like we came really close. We have no reason to complain; we're really happy with it!"

View the official trailer below.

Ian McFarland interviewed by Rock My Monkey (click on player below to launch audio):

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email