MESHUGGAH: New Song 'Bleed' Available On MySpace

February 5, 2008

Swedish math-metal pioneers MESHUGGAH have posted their new song "Bleed" on the group's MySpace page. The track comes off the band's upcoming album "obZen", which is scheduled for release in North America on March 11, 2008 via Nuclear Blast Records. The follow-up to 2005's "Catch Thirty Three" contains nine songs and has a running time of around 55 minutes.

MESHUGGAH were recently interviewed by Paolo Bianco of the Italian magazine Metal Shock about "obZen". The band explained both the album title (described as a play on words "obscene" and "zen"),and the CD cover (depicting a man meditating in the "zen lotus" position while covered in blood, explained as a metaphor for mankind finding peace of mind through acting obscene).

An audio clip of the interview is available at this location.

Loana dP Valencia of Nuclear Blast Records USA recently sat down with Tomas Haake (drums) and Mårten Hagström (guitar) of MESHUGGAH to discuss music, guitar, drumming, and the group's new album, "obZen". Watch the 29-minute video below.

MESHUGGAH held a listening party for its new album, "obZen", on January 12 at the NRG Studios in North Hollywood, California. Attending the event were producer Roy Z (HALFORD, BRUCE DICKINSON, SEBASTIAN BACH),Gene Hoglan (STRAPPING YOUNG LAD, TESTAMENT, DEATH, DARK ANGEL),Christian Olde Wolbers (FEAR FACTORY),Raymond Herrera (FEAR FACTORY) Patrick Lachman (THE MERCY CLINIC, ex-DAMAGEPLAN),Nick Menza (MEGADETH),Dirk Verbeuren (SOILWORK) and Marcos Curiel (P.O.D.),among others. Check out photos at

"obZen" (cover artwork) track listing:

01. Combustion
02. Electric Red
03. Bleed
04. Lethargica
05. ObZen
06. This Spiteful Snake
07. Pineal Gland Optics
08. Pravus
09. Dancers To A Discordant System

MESHUGGAH will support MINISTRY on the North American leg of "C U LaTouR" beginning on March 26 in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. Also appearing on the bill is HEMLOCK.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email