METALLICA Performs 'Frayed Ends Of Sanity' Live For First Time Ever; Video Available

May 28, 2014

METALLICA played the "…And Justice For All" song "Frayed Ends Of Sanity" live in its entirety for the first time earlier tonight (Wednesday, May 28) at the Sonisphere festival in Helsinki, Finland. Fan-filmed video footage of the performance can be seen below.

METALLICA's setlist for the Helsinki concert:

01. Battery
02. Master Of Puppets
03. Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
04. Ride The Lightning
05. The Unforgiven
06. Lords Of Summer
07. ...And Justice For All
08. Sad But True
09. Fade To Black
10. Orion
11. One
12. For Whom The Bell Tolls
13. Blackened
14. Nothing Else Matters
15. Enter Sandman

16. The Frayed Ends Of Sanity
17. Whiskey In The Jar
18. Seek & Destroy

For years, METALLICA had teased "Frayed Ends Of Sanity" in a variety of ways throughout the set, but quickly abandoned it, veering sharply into something else.

METALLICA bassist Robert Trujillo told last year that "Frayed Ends Of Sanity" was band's "the most challenging" song to learn on bass.

"We're going to have sit down and spin that one around for an hour or two," METALLICA drummer Lars Ulrich told the Delaware County Daily Times earlier in the month of "Frayed", which, prior to tonight, had remained the only song over the first five albums that the band had never performed live in its entirety. "We carry a rehearsal room with us wherever we go. Give us an hour and we can learn any song in our catalog. We like to make the setlist real wacky and change it up as much as possible, but in 2014 the fans are picking the songs."

METALLICA recently completed a South American tour where the band played a nearly all-request set, with 17 songs chosen online by fans prior to each gig and the last slot filled by the new track "Lords Of Summer".

That song is also featured in the setlist for the band's European festival run, on which it is repeating the "by request" format.

"It certainly gives me butterflies in the stomach in a good way, and I think it should be a lot of fun for the fans," Ulrich said after announcing "Metallica By Request" last year. "This at least puts a stop to the whining about the set list because it's basically the fans that are picking it."

METALLICA's "by request" show in South America featured such non-rarities as "Master Of Puppets", "Welcome Home (Sanitarium)", "Battery", "Fade To Black", "One" and "Enter Sandman".

"To be totally honest with you, sometimes I wish they would vote on some of the really obscure songs. We love playing crazy stuff," Ulrich told Delaware County Daily Times.

METALLICA spent some time this spring working on material for the follow-up to 2008's "Death Magnetic", but the band's 10th studio album is not expected out until 2015.

Photo courtesy of


Find more on Metallica
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).