MIDNATTSOL: 'The Aftermath' Lyric Video

May 4, 2018

The official lyric video for "The Aftermath", the title track of the new album from MIDNATTSOL, can be seen below. The disc will be released on May 25 via Napalm Records. The band's current lineup includes former LEAVES' EYES and THEATRE OF TRAGEDY frontwoman Liv Kristine Espenæs alongside Liv's younger sister, Carmen Elise Espenaes.

"The Aftermath" relies much more heavily on folk influences lending atmospheric density to the melancholic symphonic metal compositions. It is a sumptuous and sensual affair and a shimmering highlight in the discography of this German/Norwegian team.

"The Aftermath" track listing:

01. The Purple Sky
02. Syns Sang
03. Vem Kan Segla
04. Ikje Glem Meg
05. Herr Mannelig
06. The Aftermath
07. The Unveiled Truth
08. Evaluation Of Time
09. Forsaken
10. Eitrdropar (bonus track)

MIDNATTSOL released its promising debut album, "Where Twilight Dwells", back in 2005. The band quickly gained fans around the gothic, metal and rock scenes and played numerous shows and summer festivals like Summer Breeze, Wave-Gotik-Treffen, Mera Luna, as well as opening for IN EXTREMO. Their second studio album, "Nordlys", was released in 2008, followed up by "The Metamorphosis Melody" in 2011. After that, the band decided to take a creative break.

MIDNATTSOL announced Liv's addition to the band last December. The group said in a statement: "Some time ago, we discussed with Liv that she would support us on our upcoming album as a special guest. Working together, we found out that not only the result is awesome — we also have a lot of fun together. The logical consequence was that we pick up Liv as a permanent member of the band. So she is now the official second singer in MIDNATTSOL.

"As Liv is now a permanent band member, we plan to play upcoming concerts together with her. We are very happy and it means a lot to us to have such an amazing singer and fantastic person in our MIDNATTSOL family."

More recently, Carmen was involved in a project called SAVN, also featuring two members of THE SINS OF THY BELOVED.

Liv was fired from LEAVES' EYES in early 2016 and was replaced by Elina Siirala. Liv was previously married to LEAVES' EYES' co-vocalist Alexander Krull.


Carmen Elise Espenæs - Vocals
Liv Kristine Espenæs - Vocals
Alex Kautz - Guitar
Daniel Fischer - Keyboard
Stephan Adolph - Guitar

Find more on Midnattsol
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).