MIND KEY To Release 'Pulse For A Graveheart' In July

Frontiers Records has set a July 3 European release date (August 11 in the U.S.) for the second album from the Italian progressive metal band MIND KEY, entitled "Pulse for a Graveheart".

MIND KEY debuted in 2004 with "Journey Of A Rough Diamond", an album that showed the excellent potential of the Neapolitan combo. With a colourful sound, akin to such prog metal giants as DREAM THEATER, SYMPHONY X, EVERGREY and PAIN OF SALVATION, MIND KEY's music also leaned towards a more mature and song-oriented approach inspired by '80/'90s hard rock. Right before the release of the album, the original frontman Mark Basile left the group and in preparation of the tour dates, the guys met for the first time Aurelio Fierro Jr., a singer with a vast experience especially in theatres. He was able to give some splendid performances especially in the gigs that the band landed as support of DREAM THEATER for the Italian "Train Of Thought Tour 2004".

MIND KEY played more live dates in support of VISION DIVINE and PENDRAGON and also appeared at the Progpower Europe festival, with shows in Poland, Switzerland, Holland, Germany and France. During the Polish dates, a live DVD, "Habemus Poland", was recorded, with Giorgio Adamo as frontman. However he soon left to make space for the return of Aurelio Fierro. Founding member and keyboardist Dario De Cicco explains: "We decided to go for Aurelio at the end of the songwriting sessions. Note after note, chord after chord, we realized that the songs begged for Aurelio's voice and it seemed almost a necessary decision to make. I think we did the right choice as only with his astonishing performances we were able to reach what we really wanted from the new material."

The band began the recording of the second album, "Pulse for a Graveheart", simplifying their songwriting and giving the chance to Fierro to showcase his immense vocal potential which can be described as a powerful mix of Ronnie James Dio, David Coverdale and Jorn Lande. The album was later mixed and mastered by none other than Dennis Ward (PINK CREAM 69, ANGRA, KROKUS, PLACE VENDOME) to ensure the best sounding quality. According to guitarist Emanuele Colella, "We knew from the beginning that Dennis was the right choice! Since the first communication together a perfect synergy was built. He could understand our need and desire to combine a modern melodic metal sound with our progressive roots and an heavier edge. He could totally deliver what we and the music needed, he's just great."

"Pulse for a Graveheart" features guest appearances by Derek Sherinian (DREAM THEATER, ALICE COOPER), who plays a keyboard solo on "Citizen of Greed", Reb Beach (WHITESNAKE, WINGER) on "Now Until Forever", and Tom Englund from EVERGREY, dueting with Elio Fierro on "Graveheart".

MIND KEY's current lineup:

Aurelio Fierro - vocals
Emanuele Colella - guitar
Dario De Cicco - keyboards
Andrea Stipa - drums

States Stipa: "I hope the new record will give MIND KEY the chance to get rid of the label of 'prog metal band in the style of....' and bring us to a different status. We aim to be a metal band — still staying true to our diverse influences ranging from progressive to hard and melodic rock, but with a personal and trademark sound."

"Pulse for a Graveheart" track listing:

01. Sunset Highway
02. The Seventh Seal
03. Citizen of Greed
04. Crusted Memories
05. Dead Fame Hunter
06. Ventotene (The Island)
07. Graveheart
08. Eye Of A Stranger
09. Now Until Forever
10. A New Generation

Check out audio samples at this location.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).