MISS MAY I's 'Rise Of The Lion' Lands At No. 21 On BILLBOARD Chart

May 7, 2014

"Rise Of The Lion", the fourth album from Ohio metallers MISS MAY I, sold around 10,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release to debut at position No. 21 on The Billboard 200 chart.

MISS MAY I's third CD "At Heart" opened with around 12,000 units back in June 2012 to land at No. 32.

"Rise Of The Lion" was released on April 29 via Rise Records, the CD was produced by Terry Date, who has previously worked with PANTERA, DEFTONES, WHITE ZOMBIE and BRING ME THE HORIZON, among others.

MISS MAY I vocalist Levi Benton recently told Metal Hammer about the band's decision to work with Date: "We chose Terry because we’re all huge PANTERA freaks. If you ever get the chance to work with him, you take it! We've always wanted to work with him but we was always out of our price range. He's the Bentley of producers and we could only afford a Ford. [Laughs]"

Regarding the musical direction of MISS MAY I's new material, Benton said: "A lot of it could be considered leftfield for us. I won't go into detail because when you do that, people expect something that they may not particularly hear, but when we finished 'At Heart', we were all stoked and thought we'd thrown everything we had into it. After a couple of years touring and growing, we've come back to writing and have been adding different influences. There's some slower, heavier stuff, thrashier parts and no two songs sound the same. We're doing something to challenge ourselves and our listeners but please both, too."

"Rise Of The Lion" track listing:

01. Refuse To Believe
02. Lunatik
03. Gone
04. Echoes
05. You Want Me
06. Tangled Tongues
07. Hero With No Name
08. Darker Days
09. The End Of Me
10. Saints, Sinners, and Greats

"Rise Of The Lion" was made available in digital, physical CD and vinyl versions.


Find more on Miss may i
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email