MONSTER MAGNET Frontman Talks New Album With 'The Metal File'

October 21, 2010

MONSTER MAGNET mainman Dave Wyndorf was interviewed for this week's "The Metal File" podcast from Montreal's CHOM-FM. You can stream the show using the audio player below.

"Mastermind", the long-awaited new album from MONSTER MAGNET, is scheduled for release on October 29 via Austria's Napalm Records. The effort will be released as a regular CD with poster, limited digibook with two bonus tracks with poster and limited-edition box containing the digibook CD, USB stick with MONSTER MAGNET logo and exclusive video material (including a Dave Wyndorf interview from August 2010),wallpapers, ringtones, 17-track Napalm sampler and much more.

Commented Wyndorf: "['Mastermind' is] a big, beefy ball of demented anthems and power rock. The music itself is exaggerated and muscular. Like classic rock gone insane! Giant hooks, giant sounds. The rockers are direct and intense. The ballads trippy and strange. It's guitar heaven."

And the lyrics? Wyndorf laughed. "Well, the lyrics read like a fever-dream of life in the 21st century. Cynicism, optimism, satire, sex, deluded fantasies and dead-on reality. They're all here — sometimes even in the same song!

"In my world, images, information and emotions tend to intertwine. I'll describe the smallest details of my personal life in crazy, cinematic terms.

"When I write, the words play out in my mind like scenes from a movie and that's the vibe I tried to capture on 'Mastermind' — rapid-fire emotion.

"What can I say? I'm having a weird life and I have to write it down that way.

"In the end, though, 'Mastermind' ROCKS, and that's what's most important."

"Gods And Punks", the new video from MONSTER MAGNET, can be viewed below. The clip was directed by Nathan "Karma" Cox (QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE, LINKIN PARK, HIM) and tells the story of "a super villain down on his luck" whose "life's mission is to destroy the planet" trying to find a way to make his way back to "respectable evil genus status." The clever, stylized video boils with a cinematic resonance and underlying social statement about “corporate takeovers and the current political climate" all to the soundtrack of the sardonic rock 'n' roll of MONSTER MAGNET.

"Mr. Cox's savvy take on life in the 'Me, Me, Me' 21st century by way the of the superhero metaphor is nothing less than genius," commented Wyndorf. "I stand in awe."

"Mastermind" track listing:

01. Hallucination Bomb
02. Bored With Sorcery
03. Dig That Hole
04. Gods and Punks
05. The Titan Who Cried Like A Baby
06. Mastermind
07. 100 Million Miles
08. Perish In Fire
09. Time Machine
10. When The Planes Fall From The Sky
11. Ghost Story
12. All Outta Nothin'

The "Mastermind" cover artwork was designed by Invisible Creature (WOLFMOTHER, CHRIS CORNELL, FOO FIGHTERS) and can be viewed below.


Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).