MONSTER MAGNET Set American Release Date For 'Monolithic Baby!'

April 8, 2004

MONSTER MAGNET have set a May 25 American release date through SPV USA for their latest album, "Monolithic Baby!"

After liberating themselves from their major label contract following the 2001 release of "God Says No", MONSTER MAGNET frontman Dave Wyndorf says that the feeling of freedom and optimism within the band is palpable. "At last we've signed with a label again where it's the music that matters rather than all sorts of marketing strategies," he said. “That's very inspiring for us as musicians, and doubtlessly it will also be to our fans' benefit."

" 'Monolithic Baby!' was born from the irony and absurdity of life in the ongoing and truly hypnotic 21st century,” continues the always-engaging Wyndorf. "A combination of social commentary, ego stroking, paranoia and glee! This is rock and roll! Of and for the moment!"

The U.S. version of "Monolithic Baby!" will feature two exclusive bonus tracks: "King Of Mars 2004" (an updated version of a MONSTER MAGNET classic found on their 1995 breakthrough album "Dopes To Infinity") and "Venus In Furs" (a cover version of the VELVET UNDERGROUND hit). A special limited edition will feature a bonus DVD containing music videos for "Unbroken (Hotel Baby)" and "The Right Stuff" along with an exclusive band interview and two "bootleg" videos from their sold-out London performance this past December.

MONSTER MAGNET are currently blazing across Europe on a sold-out tour with new labelmates GLUECIFER and THE QUILL. North American touring plans will be unveiled soon.

"Monolithic Baby!" track listing:

01. Slut Machine (3:28)
02. Supercruel (3:40)
03. On The Verge (5:54)
04. Unbroken (Hotel Baby) (3:42)
05. Radiation Day (4:48)
06. Monolithic (4:43)
07. The Right Stuff (4:32)
08. There's No Way Out Of Here
09. Master Of Light (4:44)
10. Too Bad (3:33)
11. Ultimate Everything (7:25)
12. CNN War Theme (3:37)
13. Venus in Furs (VELVET UNDERGROUND cover) **
14. King of Mars 2004 (updated version) **

** Exclusive U.S. bonus tracks!

Limited edition bonus DVD:

01. Unbroken (Hotel Baby) (video) (uncensored version)
02. The Right Stuff (video) (extended)
03. Band interview
04. 2 live songs bootlegged from the Dec. 7, 2003 show in London

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).