MONSTRO: New Song Available For Free Download

June 28, 2011

MONSTRO, the new Atlanta, Georgia-based band featuring former BLOODSIMPLE bassist Kyle Sanders, ex-BLOODSIMPLE drummer Bevan Davies, ex-TORCHE guitarist Juan Montoya and guitarist/vocalist Charlie Suarez, will release its self-titled debut album on September 6 via Vagrant Records. The CD was recorded over a 14-day period earlier this spring at a studio in Atlanta with producer (and ALICE IN CHAINS vocalist) William DuVall.

"Monstro" track listing:

01. Fantasma
02. Anchors Up!
03. Concertina
04. Stallone
05. Olympia
06. Solar
07. Elizabeth
08. Helios
09. Apollo

The song "Anchors Up!" is available for free download at this location.

"We didn't waste a moment [in the studio], and it worked like a band is supposed to work," said Sanders.

"The album gets spacey, dreamy, and tripped-out, and then it gets straight-up heavy. I want it to be some kind of escape for people and for them to walk away from it happy and feeling completed in some way."

Fans can catch MONSTRO live on tour this fall when they support KYUSS LIVES! and THE SWORD on one of the most highly anticipated rock tours of the season. The tour begins in Toronto, Ontario on September 16 and includes stops in major cities across the U.S. before wrapping up in Pomona, California at the Fox Theater on October 8.

In a May 2010 interview with AOL's Noisecreep, Sanders stated that MONSTRO "brings in a whole new world of elements. There's plenty of heaviness, but also deep psychedelic, almost trance-like moments, with a dark, soulful side vocally," while Davies revealed the band's songs are "more musically driven than vocally, and we are not ashamed to indulge ourselves on our instruments. I feel like our songs are more like mini-journeys and less like hooks and catch phrases."

For more information, visit

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).