MOONSTONE PROJECT: 'Shooting Star' Video Available

June 23, 2009

"Shooting Star", the new video from MOONSTONE PROJECT — the ambitious musical creature of Italian guitarist Matt Filippini — can be viewed below. The song comes off the project's new album, "Rebel On The Run", which is available now via Blistering Records.

According to a press release, "Rebel On The Run" features the amazing voice of James Christian (HOUSE OF LORDS) on all but one track. That 11th track happens to be "Closer Than You Think", a soulful original written and performed by the voice of rock himself, Glenn Hughes (DEEP PURPLE, BLACK SABBATH).

Regarding the spontaneous creation of the Hughes cut, Filippini recalls, "'Closer Than You Think' is a beautiful gift from Glenn. He wrote that magical piece while I was at his house in L.A. We were watching TV in his living room and suddenly he ran into his studio, picked up his guitar and five minutes later the song was born!"

This vibe of immediate cosmic generation permeates the album, though with two years of blood, sweat and tears in the production, no detail was left unpolished on this labor of love.

While the predecessor to this release, "Hidden In Time", has become a reissued collectible favorite in the neo-classic rock underground, that album related more the "project" part of the group's name, with 10 different singers and 20 musicians collaborating. "Rebel On The Run" has an intentionally more consistent "band" feel. But fret not, there are still plenty of stunning guest appearances from hard rock royalty Ian Paice (DEEP PURPLE) and Clive Bunker (JETHRO TULL) on drums to legendary Hammond organ maestro Ken Hensley (URIAH HEEP) adding his distinct, wild keyboard flourishes! Lead vocalist James Christian's wife, solo artist Robin Beck, also layers many unique backing vocals into the colorful fabric of this warm recording.

The masterminds behind the ambitious operation are guitarist Matt Filippini and his co-writing/producing studio wizard keyboardist, Alessandro Del Vecchio. The music is solidified by the powerful MOONSTONE bassist Nik Mazzucconi, U.D.O. drummer Francesco Jovino, live drummer Alex Mori and backing singer Roberto Tiranti (LABYRINTH).

"Rebel On The Run" track listing:

01. Moonster Booster
02. Shooting Star
03. One Dollar Babe
04. From Another Time
05. Cosmic Blues
06. Madman
07. Halfway To Heaven
08. Closer Than You Think
09. Hey Mama
10. Rebel On The Run
11. Sinner, Sinner

For more information, visit

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email