NEUROSIS' 'Enemy Of The Sun' To Be Reissued With New Artwork

May 26, 2010

Neurot Recordings has announced the reissue of one of the most groundbreaking releases in the ever-expanding lineage of icons NEUROSIS, "Enemy Of The Sun".

With NEUROSIS' earlier releases — 1987's "Pain Of Mind", and even 1990's "The Word As Law" — the band's jagged and eerie blend of metallic, hypnotic, post-gutter punk was instantly recognized as wholly unique, yet it took multiple releases for the then-Bay Area unit to infinitely define its sound, forcing the world to listen, then run for cover. NEUROSIS' 1992 full-length, "Souls At Zero", showcased the band branching off into much more expanded songwriting, giving birth to much longer hymns, infusing them with tribal rhythms and slow-building post-doom bastardization, then breaking massive new ground for the metal world.

But it was their follow-up in 1993, the crushing "Enemy Of The Sun" LP, that would be the album to take the pulsing, hypnotizing monoliths NEUROSIS was crafting down to much darker, and much, much heavier territory for the rest of the band's still-growing roster of masterpieces. Still to this day, critics and fans of heavy and experimental metal hold this release to be one of the harshest, spine-chilling, mind-warping releases in history, and countless acts have cited "Enemy..." as "the one that changed everything" for them.

The eight tracks on the release was one of the most massively cavernous, crushing records the world had experienced. A mesmerizing, pressurizing, dirge-driven display of brutal riffing, thick with haunting samples, layered, anguished vocal tracks, raging multiple-member percussion contributions, and some of the most mammoth buildups ever, "Enemy Of The Sun" was an album that left a sense of anguish in your soul long after the record was over.

Neurot Recordings is proud to celebrate the 25th anniversary of NEUROSIS, and once again issue this classic album to the masses.

2010's reissue of "Enemy Of The Sun" bears a fully redesigned package by visionary artist, NEUROSIS live visual master Josh Graham, and will be made available worldwide on August 30, 2010.

"Enemy Of The Sun" reissue track listing:

01. Lost
02. Raze The Stray
03. Burning Flesh In Year Of Pig
04. Cold Ascending
05. Lexicon
06. Enemy OF The Sun
07. The Time Of The Beast
08. Cleanse
09. Takehnase (demo version)
10. Cleanse II (live in Oberhausen)

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email