NEUROSIS: Entire 'Fires Within Fires' Album Available for Streaming

September 22, 2016

"Fires Within Fires", the eleventh full-length album from long-running Oakland, California-based industrial/alternative/metal pioneers NEUROSIS, can be streamed in its entirety using the SoundCloud widget below. Due on September 23 via the band's own Neurot Recordings, the follow-up to 2012's "Honor Found In Decay" was recorded at Electrical Audio Studio with producer Steve Albini.

"Fires Within Fires" track listing:

01. Bending Light
02. A Shadow Memory
03. Fire Is The End Lesson
04. Broken Ground
05. Reach

In true Ouroborean style, "Fires Within Fires" gives due to its predecessors while progressing forward into the unfamiliar and formidable. Striking the band's signature balance between light and dark, beauty and repulsion, dense sonic heaviness and reflective space. "Fires Within Fires" is succinct, raw and deeply soulful, an all-encompassing reminder to all that transfiguration in sound remains their most commanding and inimitable strength.

The album features exquisite album artwork from the renowned Thomas Hooper, as seen below.

Speaking to Decibel magazine earlier in the year, NEUROSIS vocalist/guitarist Steve Von Till stated about the band's three-decade career: "We're so fucking lucky, man. [We have] such gratitude for the brotherhood and the ability to be a part of this sound and this family. None of us had any idea that things would ever get to this point. I don't think we could have predicted being where we are at this moment, with the different twists and turns of life. We just wanted to rage on some guitars. It's a blessing to be in this position. [With] everything that we've been through, this has been our constant gift."

Added vocalist/guitarist Scott Kelly: "We're definitely humbled and honored to have the chance to do this for this long, and to have created a family that surrounds the band. We approach everything as if it would be the last thing we do, and we've been very conscious of that, particularly over the last ten years. Because we realize that the longer you go, your odds decrease substantially. Honestly, I'm really happy to be here. I'm happy to have made it. I'm happy to have this continuous release that, although some people view it as being incredibly bleak and negative, is actually a big, burning, positive light…something that gives us a chance to survive."


Find more on Neurosis
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).